We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value at a great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chula Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chula Vista Inn
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value at a great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is a great value for people looking for a cheap place to stay when visiting San Diego. Although Chula Vista isn't the most charming town, the 10 miles to downtown SD is a very quick trip. Free continental breakfast, free parking, free wifi, strong Tripadvisor reviews and a great rate were the main factors that attracted me to this property.

Pulling into the hotel late at night, I was worried that that the area was a bit shady (as some of the clientele appeared to be), but this was not the case.

Breakfast ends earlier here than many other hotels (at 9am), and seating is insufficient, so try to go early.

Hotel honored request for upper level room as noted on Hotels.com booking. With a 10% coupon, the rate came to 64.80 during the week, and $81 on the weekend, which was an incredible value for a this hotel and amenities offered. Front desk service was good overall, but Anderson was by far the best on staff.

It looks like the room was recently renovated, though not entirely, because the sink area and particularly the bathroom needed a coat of plaster / paint. The King size bed was very comfortable, but the sheets / blankets could use an update. Also, the hotel should throw out their current stock of towels and buy new. The state of towels/bathroom/bed sheets definitely knock this hotel from "Excellent" to "Very Good". Although the hotel has a pool, I didn't see anyone using it, and it is much smaller than it appears in pictures.

If this hotel was within San Diego city limits, it could easily be twice the price. Make sure to visit Tacos El Gordo down the street in Chula Vista!

Room Tip: I enjoyed a 3rd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, Manager at Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Michael K.,

We are glad we had the opportunity to serve you during your visit to San Diego/Chula Vista. We very much appreciate and value your feedback as this helps us improve for our future guests. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    68
    50
    22
    25
See reviews for
87
44
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SaarLouis, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night.
Enough free parking, good breakfast, nice beds, clean but really noisie... Right at a Street with thin walls, you could have trouble to sleep, for me it was ok after a 18h flight!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowwhite666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I was in the San Diego area for about a week and actually went to quite a few other hotels before I finally found this one and it was GREAT! The rooms where clean and had everything I needed. The staff was very welcoming and helpful when I had questions. The location was also good. It's on a main road with lots of thing just right down the road. I am definitely looking forward to staying there again on my next visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stared our vacation in LA and stayed at another Best Western Plus but were glad to be getting out of LA to visit the San Diego area. For us, this hotel was ideally located. The staff were pleasant and effecient. The outside area and car park were fine. The room (which I must confess did smell odd when you first walked in) on the second floor was spacious, clean and comfortable. (The odour did disappear.) The breakfast was good quality but not as varied as some hotels that we stopped in but there was cereal, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, those little bun things(!) and juices/coffee/decaf/tea/milk. Ooh, there were eggs as well and a waffle maker, so on reflection, not bad! There was one thing that amused us though. One morning, we were finishing our breakfast @ 9.25, breakfast was until 10am, in walks another guest, to find that other than the liquid items, the breakfast items had been loaded on the trolley for taking away! LOL! I think that this was a no smoking establishment and was a little irritated when a fellow guest decided to stand outside my door smoking, just watching the world go by, but the smell wafted under the door, so thank heavens for neutrodol! My fellow travellers used the pool. Mmmmm, the water was rather cold! Check out was smooth and overall we wouldn't hesitate to return here for another stay as although the hotel is clearly a little old, the price for what is included is about right. We would make sure that we get to breakfast as early as possible though!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trumpster175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

As usual things have not changed at this location. you have your very helpfull friendly staff that go above and beyond to accommodate your needs. And then their is Juan. Rude, unattentive, unfriendly that will overcast a sunny stay. In the past as well as my recent visit. I bout son issues to his attention that would benefit all guest. Number one a shower fixture problem in my room. Number two. The problem with the waffle makers low heat and extends time 20-30 minutes to cook a waffle. other issues appeared to be of no interest to Juan. But he did make excuses. Maybe it was to close to the end of his shift that morning. Or maybe it my problem not his. Suggestion. Maybe the GMT should remind him that guests needs are important especially when the issues will benefit the chain or hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, bc
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am not sure what the PLUS is all about. This is the old style two story MOTEL with exterior corridors and cars parked in front of the rooms.
This motel is starting to show signs of age and could use some renovations. The bottoms of doors and walls are worn and cracked. The rooms have a smell when you first walk in, most likely cleaning agents like bleach and ajax, but the smell does go away. The rooms are spacious and somewhat clean, although the towels are not. I had yellow stains in the face towels and the bath towels are not totally white, if you know what I mean.
The price was ok.
The breakfast room is big. It was converted from a couple of rooms next to the office,. There is even a nice clean public washroom there... The orange juice was ALWAYS out (with a sign apologizing) during our 3 days stay, But there is apple juice. The breakfast selection was your typical fare, and has breakfast sandwiches stocked.
The hotel only gets an "OK" rating from me because of location and price. Nothing to write home about.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Again, don't know what the PLUS was about as I don't see anything special for this motel and probably would go elsewhere next time i am in SD.

Room Tip: ground floor, we had the room next to the stairs which gets a bit noisy when other guests are moving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solaris_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chula Vista
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
#5 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marina Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Inn

Property: Chula Vista Inn
Address: 946 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91911-1704 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn)
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chula Vista Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chula Vista, this Hotel is only a 15-minute drive to San Diego and the Sleep Train Amphitheatre. It features an outdoor pool, spa and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The spacious rooms at Chula Vista Inn are furnished with a dining table and a coffee maker. Cable TV and a hair dryer are also provided. Chula Vista Hotel offers a continental breakfast daily. Free parking and business services are available. Chula Vista Bayfront Park is a 5-minute drive from the Best Western Inn. San Diego Air and Space Museum and the San Diego Convention Center are a 15-minute drive away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chula Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing