We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Value”
Review of Chula Vista Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chula Vista Inn
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Kelowna
Level Contributor
493 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Awesome Value”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed with the BW Chula Vista Inn on November 6th for one night before heading across the border (only 3 minutes away) on our drive to the Baja. Recently renovated, great decor; comfortable rooms; outstanding breakfast selection; and incredibly friendly helpful staff :)

Room Tip: we stayed second floor away from the road, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perseverance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    69
    52
    24
    25
See reviews for
91
44
19
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northfield
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Very, very clean rooms, helpfull, polite, and knowledgeable staff. Knew everything from where to eat to directions to attractions. Good breakfast, which should be severed longer hours. There was a small boiler problem during the three days we stayed there (12/8-12/11) and so there were periods of not enough hot water. They said it was going to be repaired. Laundry with supplies on site. Had no issues with noise. Really great price for what they offer.

Room Tip: We had king rooms on the 3rd floor. No problem with them, clean quiet, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aschurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Booked the Double room online for myself and our young family. Wife, 4 year old daughter, 2 year old son and myself. Booked it for price, breakfast and location to my wife's family. Room (especially the carpets!!!) were clean. Breakfast was great but would love it available until 10AM. The bathroom and vanity area was showing its age but it was not dirty or mistreated. Flat screen TV, fridge and microwave were a plus! We had two issues during our stay. One, the remote that operated the HVAC unit was not working. Once we reported it, the batteries were replaced quickly and the unit worked great. It was not a big deal as you can run the HVAC unit from the unit but we appreciated the effort. Second, the door lock did not work. We had already unpacked all of our stuff and the staff informed us we had two options. One, move to a new room. Two, they were happy to open up the door anytime we needed. We went with option two and the staff could not have been nicer. The only thing I really was upset about was out of the control of the property. Our neighbor had a conference outside their room at 2AM the night before Thanksgiving. Our whole floor asked them to be quiet before someone else in their group stepped in. Then, 15 minutes later we heard our neighbor reacquainting themselves with their toilet after a night of drinking. We did not call the front desk but if we had I am sure they would have stepped in to quiet the guests outside in the hall. As for the toilet, not much anyone but that guest can do about that. All in all, it was a good value and we would go back.

Room Tip: The pool pumps run from 10AM to 10PM and are a bit loud. Request a room on an upper floor (they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbyopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hotel is in a commercial area right next to a Tire store. We were awoken each morning around 7 AM by the sounds of trucks and horns and air guns. Also noise late in the evening from motorcycles and pickup trucks in the parking lot..
Hotel also need better maintenance. Breakfast was OK.
Located near interstate 5 so it was a quick commute to downtown San Diego.

Room Tip: Not sure why this is a Best Western PLUS. Rooms were fine but nothing special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyTTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My wife, 12-year-old daughter and I stayed here for 1 night. Lovely and charming staff. Clean and comfortable room and the included breakfast was very nice. We used as a base for visiting San Diego and points south and it was reasonably placed to be suitable for the task. Decent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigb1999uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Check in easy. Room was dirty, filthy with food remnants around bed. Carpet turned feet black. Smell was disgusting. Door broken to dining room, which we were next to and banged with each open/ close, jarring us awake. Pneumatic ARM on door broke. Overhead toilet woke us with each flush. Pool closed. Staff never apologized. Promised new rooms to be ready by 2:00. This did not happen in a timely manner, we checked out day early. POOR SERVICE AND SMELLY, DIRTY NOISY HOTEL!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosiesgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights, and it was a great hotel. Had problems with the toilet, and they fixed it within an hour. Small pool ok. Good location, close to both downtown San Diego, and the border to Mexico (10-20 min.). Free WIFI and free breakfast wich was ok (the kid loved the waffles).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mic93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chula Vista hotels
1.8 mi away
South Bay Inn
South Bay Inn
#6 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
1.1 mi away
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
Hercor Hotel - Urban Boutique
#3 of 20 in Chula Vista
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
Good Nite Inn, Chula Vista
#4 of 20 in Chula Vista
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego South - Chula Vista
1.9 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chula Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Inn

Property: Chula Vista Inn
Address: 946 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91911 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn)
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chula Vista Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chula Vista, this Hotel is only a 15-minute drive to San Diego and the Sleep Train Amphitheatre. It features an outdoor pool, spa and rooms with free Wi-Fi. The spacious rooms at Chula Vista Inn are furnished with a dining table and a coffee maker. Cable TV and a hair dryer are also provided. Chula Vista Hotel offers a continental breakfast daily. Free parking and business services are available. Chula Vista Bayfront Park is a 5-minute drive from the Best Western Inn. San Diego Air and Space Museum and the San Diego Convention Center are a 15-minute drive away. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chula Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing