We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hotel in Chowchilla.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    51
    39
    16
    17
See reviews for
70
39
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location of the motel and the ambience of the surroundings of the room did not seem at all pleasant. I was travelling with family and did not seem like a place that I would risk my family with.
I was charged the room charge at checkin, so when we wandered down to our room on 2nd floor, we could see towels and underwear hanging on the balconies of our adjacent room...Disgusting!!
Even basic motels does not allow such things. When we stepped in the room was really hot since the A/C was off, also the room had some weird smell along with very average bed. Could feel the neighbors talking/walking on the balcony.
The location was almost on the property of a gas station and an adjacent steak house which seemed like needed serious renovation. Would not even venture here in night time.

As such decided to wait no further and checked out immediately and went to stay at the Holiday Inn Express couple of blocks down, On the hindsight I should have just paid the extra 50 bucks and stayed there on the first place. Did not seem like it had the usual Days Inn standards. Can't believe all good reviews on the site are for this place.

Did not eat the breakfast so no idea how it would have been, so no complains about it. The breakfast area with 3-4 tables and the hotel registration desk were at the same place, so one can use the imagination I guess.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liike2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to start out by apologizing for the experience that you had at our hotel. I do want to assure you that our area is very safe and we are conveniently located next to Chevron gas station and a steakhouse. I want to assure you that we do try our best to ensure that other guest do follow hotel policy and do not allow towels or garmets to hang outside on the railings. We do try to provide excellent service and rooms. If there is anything I can do please contact me directly at the hotel. Thank You for sharing your experience with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This has been one of the nicest Days Inn that I have been too. I normally stay in many Days Inn hotels and this one by far is the nicest and cleanest. They have great new LCD Samsung Flat Screen TVs. The breakfast was really good, especially the Waffles. I also liked they were right off HWY 99 and had a Starbucks next day. Ask them for guides to Yosemite, very helpful and only about an hour away. Great Location!

Room Tip: They have a great guide to Yosemite and all the major stops you need to see. Great guide!
See more room tips
Helpful?
Thank ray t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to say Thank You for sharing your outstanding experience with our hotel. We feel great when reading reviews like yours and it really tells my staff and I that we are simply doing our job the right way. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our guides that we hand out as they are great to plan out trips to Yosemite. We look forward to your next stay when you travel in to our area.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was a little hestitant because of the cheap price, but was very surprised at the cleanliness of the room. This was the first time I stayed in a motel room by myself, but I felt very comfortable. The road noise did not bother me as I sleep with a fan (white noise.) I am already booked for another visit. The General Manager Nick was very accomodating, offering to carry my luggage, etc. He game me a lower floor once I realized I couldn't do the stairs. The bed was a little hard, but I think the long drive also had something to do with that. Highly recommended by me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for the evening. We always try to provide over the top service at a value price. We understand our guests have choices and always want to be the #1 choice when staying in our area. Our team and I appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next stay. Thank You for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I were unfamiliar with the area and decided to stay here because of the low rate. My husband had booked the room online a few days prior to us arriving and we had already been charged for it. When we went to check in the woman at the front desk charged us again for the room and we explained that we had already paid and she said that we hadn't and after some back and forth she said she would check the records and finally she realized that we had indeed already paid. Then there was an issue of the late check out we paid for when we booked the room as well, which she finally saw we paid for after checking her records. Again. She refunded us the money she had charged us again for the room and we finally went to our room, but when we got there it was still being cleaned by housekeeping. So when we finally got into the room it seemed to be a pretty clean, average room. But we discovered that the toilet leaked when it was flushed and there was a cockroach in the shower, as well as bugs in the microwave. So gross. My husband had went to the front desk to ask why the wifi wasn't working and the guy said that he would send a guy named Mike up when he got there, but after a few hours of waiting "Mike" never came. Overall, we feel it would of been well worth it to pay a little more to stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinnca, Manager at Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to start out but sincerely apologizing for the experience that you had at our hotel. I understand you had some billing issues and there was some confusion on our staff's part. I do see that it was resolved and glad that it was taken care of as we do want to ensure that we do not double charge any guests. I see that overall you did find the room clean although you encountered some insects and again I do apologize for that. We do have routine Maintenance serviced by Clarks Control spray our hotel to ensure we are being proactive. This is not normal for our hotel to encounter any kinds of insects as we do take this matter seriously. I also see you had some trouble with Internet and as there is no excuse for this we are going through our 2nd phase to upgrade our WiFi. We hope that we can keep you as a guest for your next visit. We appreciate you sharing your experience and brining your concerns to us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chowchilla hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowchilla
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
17.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Madera
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Merced
12.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madera
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite

Property: Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite
Address: 220 E. Robertson Blvd, Chowchilla, CA 93610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chowchilla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite is the comfortable, affordable hotel of choice conveniently located in the heart of California. We are only 58 miles away from the breathtaking Yosemite National Park south entrance gates so that you can enjoy a great day of hiking and rafting. We are a perfect hotel for the park with an ample amount of information and maps to provide our guest with. We are also just 14 miles from Merced Regional Airport Macready Field. Fresno, Madera and Merced are all moments away, along with their vibrant attractions and cultural arts. Enjoy the finest entertainment and recreation in the heart of California. At Days Inn, our friendly staff is available 24 hours a day to assist you, and we’ll get your mornings off to a great start with our delicious complimentary Daybreak Hot Breakfast Buffet which includes fresh waffles, yogurt, hardboiled eggs and coffee/juice among other items. After a day of adventure, you can relax and unwind in the seasonal outdoor pool. The hotel was completely renovated including the lobby, all rooms and bathrooms in March 2015. Every spacious guest room at Days Inn includes a microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker, a beautiful bathroom, and a full array of personal care amenities. Whether you’re watching your favorite movie on satellite TV or staying connected with free Wi-Fi, Days Inn has everything you need to feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Chowchilla Gateway to Yosemite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Gateway To Yosemite Hotel Chowchilla
Days Inn Chowchilla
Chowchilla Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing