We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
northern california
1 review
“exceptioanl stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spent two nights at this location and everything about it was great. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the service was exceptional. In particular, Sam was a great help and went out of her way to make our stay enjoyable. The included breakfast was good and we would certainly stay here again if we are in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. I see that you had an exceptional stay with us. We do try our best and I agree Sam who is our new Front Office Supervisor is great. She really does care and goes above and beyond to create a memorable guest experience. Our hot breakfast is one of the key reasons most guest stay with us as it is a true full hot breakfast that is free for all of our guest. We look forward to your next visit while you are in our area.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    113
    25
    7
    12
See reviews for
140
92
32
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great hotel good size rooms very clean, excellent staff most helpful, breakfast as per Holiday in standard good couple of resturants close by, town seems to have had better days but found people friendly. This is also a good stop over point for Kings Canyon & Yosemte. Cannot speak highly enough of the staff gave me more info than some of the official tourist sites.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vic f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Reading your review to my staff really gives us happiness because we really try to ensure our guests are 100% satisfied 100% of the time. You are right we are the perfect location for Yosemite and if you have time Kings Canyon Park is also a must see. Our staff is excellent, they put our guest first to provide that over the top service consistently.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had a great stay at this property! the hotel was clean, well kept, and a caring hand was obvious. The staff was helpful, curtious, and friendly. Rochelle M. was a truly professional, friendly, and amazing staff member who helped to make our stay particularly memeorable. I would definately go again!

thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

I am thrilled that you found our property clean and well kept as that is exactly what we want all of our guest to experience. We strive to ensure our guests have not only somewhere safe and clean to stay but also to create a memorable guest experience. Reviews like yours gives our staff the assurance that we are doing our job. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is one of the best Holiday Inns I have ever been too. I am a Priority Club Platinum member and I normally stay at a few a week during my travels for work. This by far is the nicest and excellent staff. They really know what it takes to leave a lasting impression. I will always stay here. This time I stayed while I took my family to Yosemite National Park which was only about an hour away or so. Probably the nicest hotel in the area. They also had a great full breakfast that was included as normal Holiday Inns. This hotels management team really knows what they are doing, keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Book there 2 queen bed suite, super large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

I am glad to see that you really enjoyed our hotel during your visit to Yosemite National Park. When operating our hotel we do keep in mind to strive to be the best. We always try to ensure we provide the best service and have the latest technologies for our guests. I see you were able to enjoy our breakfast which is a great way to start the day. I am glad you found our management team to be helpful as we do have a strong team in place to ensure we do provide the best service possible. We look forward to your future stays.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

the staff here are the best, they take the time to get to know you, since I visit here a lot, like twice month at least, they are always making sure my needs are taken care of. I look forward to each of my visits and look forward to a long standing relationship with the staff.

Room Tip: each room is great, I have stayed in a few, but now that I am a regular, I usually get the same room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debra c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you are being taken care of during your visits to our hotel. Our goal for all of our guests are truly to create the memorable experience and make it has personable as we can and really understanding our guests. When reading reviews like yours it gives my staff and I the assurance that we are doing are job the right way. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great Hotel, with large Rooms, and it looks like that it is pretty new. Or the remodeling was done perfect. The Staff was friendly from the beginning, wonderful tios how to come to the Yosemite National Park. The Park is approx. 1,5 hours away from the hotel, but th low cost of the hotel and the good service ws worth teh drive. Hotels closer to the park, are outrageous expensive.

We had a room with two queen size beds, and sleppt wonderful, the TV has full cable coverage, unusal in many chain hotels. The TV was HD and everything worked great, the Internet connection was free and fast. Breakfast is HolidayInn Express standard and included.

We will be back, great stay...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had an amazing stay with us during your trip to Yosemite National Park. We are a perfect location to the park, given we are a new build hotel and only a little over an hour from the park. Our rooms are equipped with the latest technology to ensure our guest have the latest and greatest. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience online. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here because it was reasonable and we thought it was close to Yosemite but it was much further than we thought. However, it was a great drive through the nut orchards, pistachio and almonds all the way. It was also very hot. The hotel was very nice and does look new but the pool left much to be desired. It needed some landscaping! The rooms were very nice except you had to sit right in front of the tv to get the remote to work. I took it down and they gave me a new one but it did the same. That really sucked.

The breakfast was very nice with lots of choices and the service worker was so good we even gave her a tip. However, the second morning the eggs were cold as in "out of the fridge" cold.

They recommended the steakhouse on the feeder into town but don't go there. It is very expensive and only a diner. The food was nearly good but certainly not worth what they were charging. AND it was a dump to boot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljtexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest

I am glad for the most part you found the hotel to be very nice and also see you enjoyed our full hot breakfast that we include for every guest. I see you had some remote issues and will definitely look into that to ensure it is corrected. We are about a little over an hour drive to Yosemite as many do stay in our area given the limited number of rooms available near the park, I can assure you that we are a great value for a new hotel. I see you had dinner at Farnesis and though many do enjoy this restaurant perhaps on your next visit we can recommend Putters Bar and Grill at the Award winning Golf course less than a mile away which is another great restaurant. I hope that next time you are in the area we can make up for some of the areas we fell short in and create an over the top experience for you on your next visit. We appreciate you sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowchilla
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madera
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
16.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn - Merced
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madera Yosemite Pk Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
Address: 309 Prosperity Blvd, Chowchilla, CA 93610-8498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chowchilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gateway to Yosemite enjoys an easily accessible address in California's Central Valley, just 14 miles from Merced Regional Airport Macready Field. Fresno, Madera and Merced are all moments away, along with their vibrant attractions and cultural arts. Spend your holiday with us, and enjoy the finest entertainment and recreation in the heart of California. Just beyond our sophisticated new lobby, our accommodations exude refinement, with amenities designed for the 21st-century traveler. Complimentary wireless Internet access, signature Simply Smart bedding, microwaves and refrigerators help you feel right at home in your guest room, while suites offer additional space to entertain or spread out your belongings. Start the day with our free Express Start hot breakfast buffet, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, western omelets, sausages and 100-percent Arabica Smart Roast coffee. Afterward, lounge beside our sun-dappled pool, or work out in the Health & Fitness Center. Our concierge will be pleased to assist with anything that might make your stay more enjoyable, including maps and directions to Yosemite National Park only 56 miles from the South Gates. Located in Central California's Sierra Nevada mountain range, Yosemite National Park offers a diverse range of activities to enhance this incredible 1,170 square miles of breathtaking natural splendor. Guided tours, backpacking trails, top rated rock climbing sites and spectacular sunsets at Glacier Point are just the beginning. Yosemite shops offer everything from souvenirs to supplies, to ensure that you have all of the necessities for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gateway To Yosemite Hotel Chowchilla
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Gateway To Yosemite
Chowchilla Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Northeast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing