We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our company had business in Chowchilla and several of us stayed at this hotel for two weeks. Nick the General Manager was very accommodating and gave us great rates. The hotel appeared new, landscaping very nice, inside of hotel very clean and rooms were nice. All the staff there were very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JDSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

It is a joy to read reviews such as yours which ensures my staff and I are simply doing our job. We are here to ensure that every part of your stay is truly an over the top experience. We are glad that during the couple weeks you and your team were staying with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit. We appreciate the time you took to share your experience.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 451 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2012

I made a reservation for a queen suit. I reconfirmed before I arrived with the manager and when I arrived they did not have my room. They said it was the fault of the website but I used the Holiday Inn Express web site. When I asked to have two queens for the second night stay they tried to say that my reservation was not for two queens. The staff was not helpful at all. I picked the express because I was traveling with kids and I wanted the better of the three hotels but it was a huge disappointment. The breakfast is really bad too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrw02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

I would first like to apologize for the confusion that was caused. It seems though if there was a simple error made on the room types and wish we could have handled it to your satisfaction. Unfortunately I will have to look further in to this. I see that you did not enjoy our breakfast which I apologize for. I am unsure of exactly where in the breakfast area where we fell short without further details. I do hope that perhaps on your next visit to our area that you will come back and visit us and let us try to meet and exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Nice hotel, cool/modern decor. The breakfast room is sparkling clean, the food is fresh and hot thanks to Socorro, the competent, pleasant employee in charge of providing guests with a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whippetmomWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to share your experience, We agree that Socorro is a great team member that truly enjoys what she does and wants to ensure that each one of her guests that are eating breakfast in your breakfast room not only enjoys a nice Hot breakfast but also wants to ensure everything is consistently hot and fresh. We hope to see you on your next visit to the valley.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

By sharing our experience with the travelers we are helping them get their dream vacation.You are very welcome

Room Tip: You would want a room with a view of the palm trees and swimming pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We are happy to hear that you received Excellent Service. We also Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This is a very nice newer hotel. Unfortunately there are many dairy farms around, and no matter how clean they keep the property, there is a definitely stanch in the air. It will take a good part of a day to get to Yosemite. So if you are visiting the NP, it is best to stay in the park, and not this far away. There are very few eating choices around, but we did find the 2nd Street Cafe to be a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8837Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

Our team is glad to hear your stay with us was pleasant. We are one of the newer hotels in the area. It is also nice to hear you had a chance to visit Yosemite National Park which is about an hour and 15 mins to the gates. I apologize if our staff did not recommend the many places to eat near our hotel as we do have many choices from Steakhouses to a great Mexican restaurant near our hotel, and a favorite is the restaurant at the golf course. Although it was great that you did eat at the 2nd street Cafe which is a local favorite. We do appreciate the time you took to share your experience and look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

When I first arrive at the hotel staff was very friendly. However I have to pay extra because the room that I selected online and requested 2 bed was not available. So I had to pay an additional fee for an upgrade however, when we let down the sofa bed there was a sticky mouse pad underneath. The front desk person refused to move it and insisted that we would not have a mouse in our room during the winter time. Therefore as women could not sleep. I thought this was poor service. With the train and the thin walls you can hear every thing and I mean every thing.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

I am delighted to see that you found our staff to be friendly as we try to ensure the best of possible service. I do see that you were assessed an upgrade charge given that you booked a different room type than the room you wanted at check in. I always encourage all of our guests to book directly with the hotel so that there is no confusion in the type of room you need and can guarantee it at check in. I do apologize for the level of noise you may have encountered. We hope that on your next stay with us we can make up for the shortfall you experienced on this last stay. We do appreciate your time for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This is a great hotel if you don't mind loud trains screaming by with the horns blaring every two hours while you attempt to sleep. It is also great if you don't mind loud, obnoxious guests arriving at the hotel at 2:30am laughing and screaming and carrying on like idiots. Count on paper thin walls, doors, windows, ceilings and floors to ensure you don't miss a single thing even after said neighbors arrive at 2:30am. Front desk girl was amazing and nice.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate you taking the time to express your concerns with us about your recent stay. I would like to apologize that some of the other guests in our hotel that day were being too loud. I am unsure if you reported this to Guest Services so we can address this at the time of the incident to correct the situation. We do monitor our guests especially during the evening hours to ensure our guests get a good nights sleep. I apologize if the trains kept you up, normally they do not run in the evening hours. I do hope that we can make your stay right for you on your next visit. We do try to provide an excellent customer experience for all of our guests.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowchilla
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Merced
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Madera
15.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Merced
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Courtyard Merced
Courtyard Merced
#2 of 14 in Merced
463 reviews
13.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madera Yosemite Pk Area
16.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Madera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area

Address: 309 Prosperity Blvd, Chowchilla, CA 93610-8498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chowchilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Price Range: $110 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gateway to Yosemite enjoys an easily accessible address in California's Central Valley, just 14 miles from Merced Regional Airport Macready Field. Fresno, Madera and Merced are all moments away, along with their vibrant attractions and cultural arts. Spend your holiday with us, and enjoy the finest entertainment and recreation in the heart of California. Just beyond our sophisticated new lobby, our accommodations exude refinement, with amenities designed for the 21st-century traveler. Complimentary wireless Internet access, signature Simply Smart bedding, microwaves and refrigerators help you feel right at home in your guest room, while suites offer additional space to entertain or spread out your belongings. Start the day with our free Express Start hot breakfast buffet, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, western omelets, sausages and 100-percent Arabica Smart Roast coffee. Afterward, lounge beside our sun-dappled pool, or work out in the Health & Fitness Center. Our concierge will be pleased to assist with anything that might make your stay more enjoyable, including maps and directions to Yosemite National Park only 56 miles from the South Gates. Located in Central California's Sierra Nevada mountain range, Yosemite National Park offers a diverse range of activities to enhance this incredible 1,170 square miles of breathtaking natural splendor. Guided tours, backpacking trails, top rated rock climbing sites and spectacular sunsets at Glacier Point are just the beginning. Yosemite shops offer everything from souvenirs to supplies, to ensure that you have all of the necessities for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gateway To Yosemite Hotel Chowchilla
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Gateway To Yosemite
Chowchilla Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Northeast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing