We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Hot and Spicy salad with grilled Chicken”

Chiriaco Summit Cafe
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the Hot and Spicy salad with grilled Chicken”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The salad was more flavorful than I expected! There was spicy dried mango on the salad which surprised me pleasantly. Give it a try.

The store attached to the cafe had quite a bit of local food items so I bought the Mayhaw Jelly to try when we get home as I'd never heard of that.

Please visit the Classic Car area as Herb made us feel so at home while we waited for our electric car to charge. Thanks Herb!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mollmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Curiosity fulfilled”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stopped in for lunch en route home from a long road trip. We had seen Chiriaco Summit featured in a Visiting with Huell Howser episode on PBS and thought it would be fun to check the place out.

The menu was pretty standard, and both my husband and I chose to have the hamburger chili size. It was served with curly fries. The chili was not bad, but had a bit more green pepper than I like. It was an ample portion and a satisfying meal.

The cafe is clean, the staff is pleasant and the restrooms were well-maintained.

Overall, the history of this quaint little shop makes it a worthwhile stopover if traveling between Indio and Blythe on I-10.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalGal1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Went to See the Tanks, then Eat”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very simple coffe shop type place, but food seemed good enough. The gift shop is kinda cool. The menu at the restaurant was wanting for more, as was the servings, but it is what it is, out in the desert, where there is nothing else....all in all, not too bad, but not too special...unless you want to shop...then the gift shop is sorta neat-ish.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DantheMountainMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better than Fast Food in the Coachella Valley”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The cool thing about the Chiriaco Summit Cafe is that it's in the middle of nowhere. 50 miles west of Blythe, 50 miles east of Palm Springs. The Chiriaco family have carved out their own little oasis in the middle of the desert and their cafe is somewhat reminiscent of what it must have been like when the Joads were coming to California. I had simple fare - grilled cheese and chips, so I can't really comment on the food quality. I mean, how much can you say about a grilled cheese sandwich? But, the vibe is cool. It's next to the Patton Museum (worth an hour of your time), and if you're there on a Sunday, you can attend mass on the patio. If you have a romantic streak, it beats fast food and, if you squint just right, you might be able to imagine a shimmering caravan of Model A's slowly making its way east from Desert Center.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fast-food quality but not fast-food prices!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Traveling from California to Phoenix, stopped for a meal because we missed our turnoff for food in Indio, and couldn't wait another 90 miles to eat in Blythe.

Very average meals. We had the patty melt, hamburger, and club sandwich. The patty melt was only slightly better than if we had gone to the convenience store and microwaved a sandwich. The curly fries were average - think Jack-in-the-Box. The cheese on the hamburger was still cold. The mashed potatoes were not fresh. The club sandwich was okay, but it wasn't a $10 sandwich.

The vanilla malt shake was good -- plenty of malt, although the vanilla was just average. The chocolate shake was just average, also.

The bill for 4 people came to $66 with tip - a little expensive for what was basically fast-food quality meals.

They serve breakfast all day, so if you like breakfast, this could be a positive. But for us, we will probably make sure we don't miss our exit in Indio again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank k-ro99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chiriaco Summit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing