We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Forgot to wish husband a happy birthday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Johnnie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Johnnie's Restaurant
220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928
530-893-3100
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Forgot to wish husband a happy birthday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

When I made the reservation and when I arrived, I reminded our server it was my husbands birthday and she still forgot. I wish I had forgotten to add a tip!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jebett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    11
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico
Level Contributor
155 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Favorite Happy Hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My girlfriends and I love going to Johnny's Happy Hour! Yeah, it is tough to get a table, but for about $20 each, we have a couple of drinks and a plentiful quantity of tasty and diverse little plates of appetizers that we all share. It is the perfect early dinner with friends!

(If my review was helpful, click and let me know. Thanks!0

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun bar scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only had drinks here (the food smelled great though), but teh service and ambiance was top notch. A nice classy addition to downtown Chico.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajm616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What happened???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I used to go to Johnnie's once a week for lunch. And loved it. Met a friend for dinner and drinks only to find that they no longer serve dinner. We ordered the calimari as a starter in the bar (because the dining room has limited hours) hoping to be impressed enough to stay for one of their few "tapas" offerings. We both took a few bites of the calimari and decided to move on. The waitress did not return for quite awhile. When she did return she did not seem to notice that we barely touched the appetizer. She simply brought our check as if she knew it was bad and we would be leaving. What a shame. It has great potential I know they can do the right thing; they have done it before.

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nutmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“SAD!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We stopped going to Johnnies because the food was so bad. We decided to try it again with the new menu. The tapas was pathetic. My only reaction was, "What a sad place"! The plates were stacked on the tables and the silverware rolled in napkins like a cafeteria. The food was "gag me with a spoon". The bar was empty on a Friday night. Boy has this place gone down hill. Too bad because it is a nice hotel.

Helpful?
Thank deepchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnnie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing