We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Anacortes
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

What a great place to stay. The room is spotless, the staff fantastic and the breakfast was great. We even had a personalized note from the staff on Christmas Eve when we checked in.
Over a course of a week, we stayed various times and each time the staff at the front desk were very friendly. Each room we had was clean and spacious. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inside are quieter as the street in the front tends to be noisy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Podunct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina J, Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! Your feedback is important to us and helps us to improve the quality of service for all of our guests.

We thank you for your compliments regarding our room cleanliness. Our staff works very hard to make sure that each room is immaculate for our guests and take the time and effort to make sure that all the details of the room have been finely touched.

I hope that you will return to our hotel in the future, you will undoubtedly be greated with a welcoming smile from our front desk agents.

Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    86
    32
    12
    10
See reviews for
82
54
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This isn't a five-star hotel but for the price, you can't beat it. The room was nothing special but it was fine and the location is great--walkable to just about everything. Would recommend to anyone staying in Chico on a budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Californienne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina J, Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us to improve the quality of service for all of our guests.

Our location is one of the many reasons why guests love it so much here! We are within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and Chico State.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay while you were with us and hope that you will stay with us again on your return trip back to Chico.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Quality Inn was very clean, pool was nice and clean. Front Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice not just muffins and fruit. Staff was constantly refilling empty items. When we came back late one evening there was no parking due to a local concert/event. The staff moved their personal cars so we could have a spot. Also, nice walking distance to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina J, Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. Your feedback is important to us and helps us to improve our quality of service for all of our guests. I am pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and had kind things to say about our staff. Our staff members believe in customer service excellence and try to go above and beyond for our guests.

I hope that on your future visits to Chico we will see you again! Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a clean and nicely decorated hotel near Chico State and the downtown areas. Great place to stay the next time you are in Chico. Breakfast was free which is good but I would rather go out next time.

Room Tip: It listed the room on Priceline.com for $91 but go to the Quality Inn website and get the room for...
See more room tips
Green Features: They believe in a lot of practices. They don't believe in washing linens every day unless you want them to.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RENOTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina J, Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is important to us and helps us to improve the quality of service for all of our guests. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope that on your next visit to Chico you will book with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was a student at Chico State graduating in 1965, and I remember this property as the Thunderbird Lodge. THAT sign still displays at the street entrance, but this is now a "Quality Inn," and it certainly lives up to that name. Our room was as nicely furnished and maintained as any "5 star" property, and the breakfast service had waffles and sausages in addition to rolls and toast. The OJ was MUCH better than at most of the places we have stayed, and the staff was highly responsive.

We drove the 100 miles to Chico in and ELECTRIC CAR and the manager allowed us to plug-in (110v) and leave our vehicle charging overnight. I spoke to him to suggest installing 220v plugs for even faster charging, and he seemed interested in following up on this. We would stay here again on a future visit for sure!

Room Tip: We were right near the office and it was quiet and had good access to 110v EV charging plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina J, Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us to improve the quality of service for each of our guests.

I'm very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take all our guest's suggestions to heart and if those suggestions will help to improve our service we will certainly try! We will be looking into the 220v plugs and see if we can get those installed sometime in the future.

I hope that your visit to Chico was a very nostalgic experience for you and we would certainly love to see you again so that we may further exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed there on our way north. Great value for one night. Good bed. Good breakfast. Helpful staff. Cute downtown location. Just what we expected. Enjoyed the drive through the walnut groves on the 99. Stopped at The Red Barn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LStoneyAcres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina J, Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is valuable to us and helps us to improve the quality of service for all of our guests. I'm happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one. All of our team members work especially hard to exceed the expectations of all of our guests.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and I hope that on your next visit to Chico we will be seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The rooms are nice enough as was service and breakfast. The pool is small. Location is easy walk to down town restaurants, bars etc. Our issues were probably not the norm. Our neighbors showed up about 3am. As you can't smoke in the rooms they were smoking on the balcony outside my room and talking loud. When i confronted them they quieted down some but it was annoying. The AC unit does not allow fan to run continually which would have been a real help. The AC unit was noisy and wolk me up when it cycled on and off. In the am some ones car alarm was on for at least an hour. They don't get car info so could not tell who owned car.

Our experience was not so good. Hopefully your will be better..

Room Tip: Bring a fan with you to drown out noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visalia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina J, Manager at Quality Inn, Near Chico State, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is important to us and helps us to improve our quality of service for each guest.

It's our goal that we exceed the expectations of every guest and I apologize greatly that we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Any time there is noise, we encourage our guests to please call the front desk immediately. There is always someone available at the desk 24 hours and we will investigate the noise complaint as soon as it's made. If a guest continues to be disruptive after the first warning, we will have them evicted. You will notice that when you check in to our hotel, we make you agree to a 'Zero Party Tolerance' rule which explains that any disruption will result in eviction.

Unless we are notified that there is noise, there is nothing we can do to prevent it. As a guest, you should never have to personally confront another guest to tell them to quiet down. We will do that for you.

Our heating and cooling unit is energy efficient. Once it detects a certain temperature in the room, it will automatically shut off to conserve energy. Unfortunately, that also includes the fan option. We apologize for the disturbances and inconvenience that the unit caused you.

The guest who owned the vehicle with the car alarm going off was absent from the property. We made every attempt to find a way to shut the alarm off; including calling the police and a towing company to see if they would disconnect the battery for us. Unfortunately they could not do anything.

I hope that the next time you visit Chico you will give us another opportunity to prove to you that we can exceed your expectations and that we can make your stay much more pleasant than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
1.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#4 of 17 in Chico
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
2.0 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn, Near Chico State? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn, Near Chico State

Property: Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Address: 715 Main St, Chico, CA 95928-5617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chico
#3 Family Hotel in Chico
#5 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn, Near Chico State 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn near Chico State near the California State University Chico campus. The Quality Inn® near Chico State is less than a mile away from the Bidwell Mansion State Historic Park outdoor recreation area and museum. This unique venue features a Victorian-era house with 26 rooms, a gift shop, a theater and more. Guided tours of this facility are held weekly. This California hotel is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Chico. If business brings you to town, the convention center and California State University, Chico campus are within walking distance. The Silver Dollar Speedway is within five miles. The city of Chico has recognized as bicycle friendly town, so hit the town for pleasure and explore the downtown area, Bidwell Park and much more. Additional points of interest close to this Chico, CA hotel include: Butte County Fairgrounds Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Chico Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn, Near Chico State reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn, Near Chico State Hotel Chico
Chico Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing