We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Diamond In Chico”
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Diamond In Chico”
Reviewed August 16, 2006

For years the Diamond Hotel sat vacant, but after five years of rebuilding a Victorian gem has emerged from a vacant shell Sixth Street in downtown Chico. I arrived at night and entered the small lobby. The staff was quite helpful. In the front parlor a scrapbook described the rebuilding effort. The rooms were large, perhaps 20 X 18 with subdued (not too Victorian) paper and carpets. Each room had high-speed ethernenet, TV, high king beds with king pillows, Bottle water and mints provided. For sleeping it was very quiet. The hotel features a restaurant and lounge called Johnies, that features complimentary breakfast and wine reception in the evening.
The bar stays open until 11 or 12.

What I liked best is that the restoration was tasteful but not overdone. There are seating areas tucked into stairs, high-backed furniture in the lobby, good lighting throughout,. The bathrooms feature nice counters and tile floors, but nothing too ornate. Overall, the Diamond achieves a great mix of function and form, plus good service. It's ideal for business travelers or parents bringing kids to schools in Chico.

Helpful?
3 Thank phood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you found our renovation to be inviting. It is our job to provide the best service possible and we look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    63
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
67
85
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2006

While only there one night, our stay at the Hotel Diamond was delightful. BEAUTIFUL rooms and charm throughout the renovated Diamond. From mill work, ceilings, to lovely lighting, and most of all the staff, this was a restful stay. If there was one complaint, it would be that the air conditioning fan for our room came on too frequently...that might have been a tad quieter for a more restful sleep. Other than that, it was a fabulous experience. Highly recommended. The visit so charmed my husband that he wants to make Chico a destination for future travels rather than just a stop along the highway for a rest.

  • Liked — renovation--just beautiful! Fine detail and EXCELLENT staff: friendly, helpful, responsive
  • Disliked — the a/c fan ran too frequently (a bit noisy) but, hey, we kept cool among 110 degree heat!
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy the great breakfast, dine there, and don't miss a walk in the wilderness of Bidwell park
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank visit_Saint_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Having just spent two nights at the Hotel Diamond, we are well-rested and delighted with our visit.

The Hotel is a recreation/restoration of an historic property. It has a prime location in the downtown, so many decent restaurants and stores are within walking distance as is the University and the Farmer's Market. As a result, we would recommend the Diamond simply for being such a good jumping-off point to seeing the town.

Hotel staff were the second great thing we noted about the Diamond. We were greeted warmly, conversationally. Shortly after we'd reached our room, we received a phone call from the desk asking whether the room looked to be good and asking if we had any other immediate needs. Hotel staff provided us clear directions to places more than once as well. If the Hotel Diamond can retain such pleasant staff, it will be in good stead.

Our room was also quite fine. A king-sized bed with good quality linens made for good sleep both nights. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a shower stall (which we prefer) and Aveda amenities. The bedroom was decorated in attractive greens and wine-red colors and featured handome framed photos of the Chico State campus. Perhaps most importantly - given the 90+ heat of the weekend - the air conditioning made it deliciously cool for sleeping. One other bonus: free internet. If only all hotels understood how much travelers appreciate that these days.

Our complaint, which we shared with the desk staff on check out, was with the continental breakfast all guests can enjoy. The breakfast is to run until 9:30 each morning, but when we arrived at 9:10 on a Saturday morning, we found it badly picked over. Staff in the restaurant seemed more intent on getting it all put away for the day rather than replenishing even basics like orange juice or milk for cereal and coffee. We were not the last to arrive in the restaurant, and we suspect future guests will show up right at 9:30. We hope they will rethink the breakfast buffet and make something better of it.

Chico was a surprisingly handsome town with much to see and do. The Diamond Hotel provides a better-quality, in-town option for visitors to Chico.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cpdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We apologize for the state of the breakfast, since your stay we have seriously upgraded the way that we do breakfast as well as our breakfast staff and it is now one of our most praised features! We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2006

The Hotel Diamond looks as new as the day they opened. This impeccably clean hotel is beautiful, comfortable and service oriented. In the center of downtown Chico, across from the park, the hotel is within walking distance to the university, restaurants and shops. Despite being in the downtown area, our room was very quiet. (Don't expect a view, just other buildings.) Our room had a nice TV, desk, toiletries, bathrobe, slippers, hairdryer, and mints on the pillow. The room is a good size even when suitcases are laid open on the floor. There are also 3 beautiful suites available. A very nice complimentary breakfast is available every morning from 6:30am to 9:30am. They serve scrambled eggs, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, muffins, croissants, yogurt, juice, coffee and tea. Parking is free. Internet access is available in your room. After spending several years staying at other hotels in Chico, I'm so glad Hotel Diamond finally opened. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Chico.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LifeIsShortTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your time and positive review. We are happy to accommodate you and we look forward to your future stays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2005

we arrived late into Chico and had to call to find the hotel, we were given clear and simple directions. When we checked in and aksed about dining several good choices were given. Nice room also. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 13, 2005

I heard a little about Hotel Diamond from some friends so I decided to suprise my husband for his birthday. I made arrangements with the front desk to have flowers and champagne in the room when we arrived. We stayed in a large suite with antique furniture and hardwood floors. The room was stunning. My husband loved the huge plazma TV. We had dinner at Johnnies which was very good. I highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your time and positive review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 26, 2005

I stay very frequently at many hotels and none can compare to this diamond. Hotel Diamond is a diamond. I am looking forward to returning to Chico just to stay at the hotel. The staff are incredible and efficient, the rooms are done with great taste and comfort. I highly recommend that everyone should visit this AWESOME hotel.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your time and positive review. It is our job to provide the best service possible. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#4 of 17 in Chico
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Property: Hotel Diamond
Address: 220 W 4th St, Chico, CA 95928-5315
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chico
#3 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diamond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing