We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Chico”
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2009

This is a great place to stay while visiting Chico. It's close to all the things I love: downtown, the Bookstore, Pete's, awesome salads at Pluto's, Fleet Feet, and Bidwell Park.

The staff was very friendly. My room was quiet & very beautiful. The bed was extremely comfortable. I will stay again. Thank you Hotel Diamond!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking your time and positive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 268 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

The Hotel Diamond is a beautiful, nicely restored hotel in downtown Chico. It's impressive staircase and entryway or reminiscent of an old grand California home. The staff are incredbily friendly and helpful. Your stay comes with a $10 coupon good at the attached restaurant, Johnnie's. The bar at Johnnie's has always been crowded when we've visited and the food is good...nothing out of this world...but very good. My only drawback would be that it's a bit steep in price for a small town like Chico. That being said, it is worth it if you can afford it because we've stayed at the Vagabond, Days Inn and others and they don't even compare to the Hotel Diamond. I'd definintely recommend it!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jraab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. We look forward to your future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

My mother and I came to Chico to check out the University and we made a reservation at the days in up the street and the door was bashed in and it was St. Patricks Day and my mom did not feel safe so we drove and found Hotel Diamond and I have to say we could have chosen a more friendly or homely place to spend our night in Chico. We never wanted to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatking33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

This building was under construction ALL during my time at Chico State. They finally got it done, and it was worth the time. Affordable, right in the center of downtown, great kids behind the desk, they called to ask how things were just a little bit after we checked in. I have nothing bad at all to say about this place. I'm sure it will be full on busy weekends, but lock in a reso if you can.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norcallionstallion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your time and positive review. We look forward to your future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Traveling through Chico we decided to stop and have dinner. We ended up staying at the Hotel because it was to nice to pass up. I will now stop in Chico every time I am traveling through for work. The Hotel is so nice and the beds are so comfortable! I could not believe the price for such an upscale property.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

I recently stayed at Hotel Diamond while visiting my cousin who attends Chico State University. I was impressed with the genuine nature of the employees who worked there. Once the Front Desk knew my name, I never passed through the lobby without being a warm welcome or friendly greeting in which the staff addressed me by my name.

The continental breakfast in Johnny's Restaurant is a full spread in the morning with made to order omelets. The chef is a colorful character who knows a lot about the town and the history of the hotel.

The hotel is charming... wonderful amenities, great staff, and I've never slept so well. Definitely a must stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We took our son to tour Chico State and the Hotel is very close to campus and provided free parking. We were able to walk around downtown and get a feel for the city. The best part of our stay was the breakfast at Johnnies, wireless internet, and passes to the gym. The upgraded rooms are worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSUFAN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
567 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Address: 220 W 4th St, Chico, CA 95928-5315
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chico
#3 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range: $162 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diamond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing