We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Luxurious Lodging in a Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious Lodging in a Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Diamond Hotel and no lie...it's a gem!

Our room was spacious and beautifully appointed. The bed was comfy, linens luxurious and pillows fluffy. Even the windows opened, allowing us to enjoy the fresh, local air while we slept.

Towels were fluffy, robes and slippers were provided, and the Avena toiletries were so nice that I think that I will soon be changing my shampoo brand!

Plus, lotsa freebies and charming touches: a free drink in the hotel bar, free real breakfast, and a free pass to a local plus-de-ultra health club. Heck, there was even a little bag of trail mix on our pillow, California's version of a chocolate truffle, I guess.

Great central location too....we were able to walk to campus, where I was lecturing at the Gateway Science Museum.

A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We look forward to your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    55
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
65
72
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this charming boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Chico. The rooms are very comfortable and include robes and slippers! The free breakfast at the restaurant was delicious and the CSU Chico campus is very close.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 12Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay and review of the Hotel Diamond. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Traveling from Ashland, Oregon to Plumas County, we wanted to visit and see Chico, home of Chico State College. The Diamond Hotel looked like the place to stay, and it was.
A really neat remodel. Parking "reserved" next door in the structure. Passes to one of the best gym and pool facilities around. Helpful and gracious staff. (Helpful with maps, directions to the Gym, and to Chico's own Ice Cream store.)

Our room was quite spacious, with a nice large bathroom and all the amenities.

We had a late lunch with 1/2 price tapas (most interesting tacos and other items), a pleasant dinner (we opted for a light dinner, having visited the town's local ice cream store), and we enjoyed a complete breakfast (included). All meals were good and served in pleasant surroundings. (We haven't been able to figure why there might be negative reviews unless from "cranky" people.)

It is a short walk to the Campus of Chico State and we did the walk around the campus at night and in the morning.

There are a number of motels and chain hotels around, but why do that when there is a unique spot like the Diamond Hotel

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor, a higher floor might give a better view of the trees etc of the adjacent n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had a chance to utilize our In-motion fitness passes. Your feedback is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We've been staying at HD once or twice a year since the major remodeling that took place about 10 years ago. They've discovered, and employed, the secret to a successful hotel: maintenance, proper, skilled, and frequently applied. THe place is as inviting as it was during our first visit. Keep up the great work.

THe breakfasts are outstanding as well. Cooked to order in a very nice setting.

Room Tip: We've had no complaints for any of the rooms we've stayed in. THe last two visits we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review of the Hotel Diamond. We use these reviews in our training and will definitely be going over this one. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We live in Chico and once in a while enjoy staying in a suite at the Hotel Diamond as a special treat. It's like being on vacation without having to go on vacation. The hotel is in the heart of downtown Chico surrounded by a number of fantastic restaurants & shopping. The beautiful fountains in the city plaza are across the street and the park is within walking distance. We will continue to do this every chance we get!

Room Tip: Suites 402 & 411 are like luxury apartments...very comfortable and spacious with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hotel Diamond. We look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great spot right downtown near everything! The staff was awesome and we were compted a cocktail at arrival and got $10.00 each off our breakfast. The room was perfect for the short time we were there (Just overnight) Great beds, very quite and the towels were fantastac.
For family's with small kids, mabe not the best choice due to no pool, but for anyone else, this is the place to stay in Chico!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. I apologize we do not have a pool on-site; however, we do provide a complimentary pass for each of our guests to In-Motion Fitness where a pool is available. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonesboro
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

On a recent road trip mu husband and I ran onto a little oasis in the California Rice Country. The rooms were spacious, beds were inviting, impeccable service, great location, and supper clean. We also had dinner in the adjacent restaurant nice bar scene and good food. Well worth a stop. Thursday nights during the summer the town fills the downtown for a farmer's market festival. A real treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your time and positive review. It was a pleasure having you and we are glad that you had the opportunity to experience the Thursday Night Farmer’s Market here in downtown, Chico. We look forward to see your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Property: Hotel Diamond
Address: 220 W 4th St, Chico, CA 95928-5315
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chico
#3 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diamond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing