We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Reunion Road trip to Chico” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reunion Road trip to Chico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great spot right downtown near everything! The staff was awesome and we were compted a cocktail at arrival and got $10.00 each off our breakfast. The room was perfect for the short time we were there (Just overnight) Great beds, very quite and the towels were fantastac.
For family's with small kids, mabe not the best choice due to no pool, but for anyone else, this is the place to stay in Chico!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. I apologize we do not have a pool on-site; however, we do provide a complimentary pass for each of our guests to In-Motion Fitness where a pool is available. It was a pleasure to have you and we look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    53
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
62
69
13
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jonesboro
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

On a recent road trip mu husband and I ran onto a little oasis in the California Rice Country. The rooms were spacious, beds were inviting, impeccable service, great location, and supper clean. We also had dinner in the adjacent restaurant nice bar scene and good food. Well worth a stop. Thursday nights during the summer the town fills the downtown for a farmer's market festival. A real treat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your time and positive review. It was a pleasure having you and we are glad that you had the opportunity to experience the Thursday Night Farmer’s Market here in downtown, Chico. We look forward to see your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here several days in one of the suites on the 4th floor. The staff couldn't have been more friendly, more helpful or more professional. The hotel is really nice and really well maintained but the staff put the finishing touches that make booking with this hotel a no-brainer. Nice soaking tub, nice TV's, nice outdoor patio on the 4th floor, very quiet, nice laundry service, well appointed decor, really comfortable bed, nice furniture, very, very clean and antique yet artistic furnishings and design of features. I was surprised at this hotel restaurant because this was the only hotel restaurant that we've stayed at in several years that didn't gouge us on the prices. In fact, I still can't figure out how they make any money on the seafood omelette which was really fresh and really good. The staff was very accommodating and went way out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect for a family reunion. Parking was painless and very convenient.

Room Tip: Many people avoid hotel restaurants but this is a good one. The shops near the hotel are really cute...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Sigel S, thank you so much for your recent stay and positive review. It was truly our pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your future reservations.

Ryan Brimm
Manager
Hotel Diamond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very much enjoyed my stay at the Diamond. Rooms are finished to a very high quality and are cleaned to a high standard. However - for my stay the bar was closed and it did not function as a hotel. There really are no other amenities. The location is very good - in downtown Chico. (Amongst speciality shops, bars and restaurants ) . Larger stores, pharmacy, supermarket us a drive out of town

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenradlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize you didn't get a chance to enjoy Johnnies. We look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Diamond Hotel for 1 night in early July, attending my daughters Freshman orientation at Chico State. Booked a double Queen room, was $155/nt. That price is high for Chico, but it's a higher quality hotel than most in the Chico area, and in the best location. The hotel is right in the heart of Downtown Chico, but only a few short blocks from the Chico State campus. The closest hotel to Chico State, with lots of restaurants, ATM's, and shopping all around it. Parking is free in a covered parking garage right next to the hotel, with the permit the hotel provides you at check-in. Complimentary Breakfast at the restaurant on the first floor is included. Because we had to leave early for Orientation, instead we chose to have a continental breakfast delivered to our room (again, free), and it was plenty of food, and very nice (Fresh fruit, danishes, cereal, etc.). The room was not huge, but big enough. The beds were very comfortable, and linens very clean. AC worked wonderfully (it was 110 outside!), and lots of TV channels. Everything was clean, and everything worked. Wireless internet is free, and worked well. The front desk folks were very friendly and on top of things. The room seemed very quiet(room 203), but I don't think the hotel was fully booked the day we were there, so hard to judge. I will definitely be looking to stay her again as first choice whenever we come to visit. When you arrive, there are a couple spaces right in front of the hotel for check-in/loading, don't park in the garage until you get a parking permit. There is no gym or pool at the hotel, but they do have passes for a commercial gym nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best services possible. We look forward to your future reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Amazing staff and clean rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and will likely return on our next trip to visit family in Chico. Breakfast is complimentary and menu is modern and wait staff is attentive. The elevator did get stuck but issue was quickly resolved. I recommend this property for families and couples.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor because we could take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaScott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. The next time you stay with us, let us know your room preference and we will attach permanent notes on your profile so that every time you stay with us we can put you in a room that is most comfortable to your needs. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely refurbished old hotel right in the heart of downtown old Chico. It is walking distance to all the great restaurants, shops, lounges and dance clubs and has a friendly accomodating staff. The room includes a $10.00 voucher for breakfast in their comfortable redtaurant. I had the best eggs benedict I've ever eaten. Go to the Diamond and hang out with the Chico college kids downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 stars 820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Property: Hotel Diamond
Address: 220 West 4th Street, Chico, CA 95928
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chico
#3 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diamond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing