We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality hotel - limited amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“High quality hotel - limited amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Very much enjoyed my stay at the Diamond. Rooms are finished to a very high quality and are cleaned to a high standard. However - for my stay the bar was closed and it did not function as a hotel. There really are no other amenities. The location is very good - in downtown Chico. (Amongst speciality shops, bars and restaurants ) . Larger stores, pharmacy, supermarket us a drive out of town

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenradlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize you didn't get a chance to enjoy Johnnies. We look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    55
    11
    2
    6
See reviews for
65
72
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed at the Diamond Hotel for 1 night in early July, attending my daughters Freshman orientation at Chico State. Booked a double Queen room, was $155/nt. That price is high for Chico, but it's a higher quality hotel than most in the Chico area, and in the best location. The hotel is right in the heart of Downtown Chico, but only a few short blocks from the Chico State campus. The closest hotel to Chico State, with lots of restaurants, ATM's, and shopping all around it. Parking is free in a covered parking garage right next to the hotel, with the permit the hotel provides you at check-in. Complimentary Breakfast at the restaurant on the first floor is included. Because we had to leave early for Orientation, instead we chose to have a continental breakfast delivered to our room (again, free), and it was plenty of food, and very nice (Fresh fruit, danishes, cereal, etc.). The room was not huge, but big enough. The beds were very comfortable, and linens very clean. AC worked wonderfully (it was 110 outside!), and lots of TV channels. Everything was clean, and everything worked. Wireless internet is free, and worked well. The front desk folks were very friendly and on top of things. The room seemed very quiet(room 203), but I don't think the hotel was fully booked the day we were there, so hard to judge. I will definitely be looking to stay her again as first choice whenever we come to visit. When you arrive, there are a couple spaces right in front of the hotel for check-in/loading, don't park in the garage until you get a parking permit. There is no gym or pool at the hotel, but they do have passes for a commercial gym nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best services possible. We look forward to your future reservations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Amazing staff and clean rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and will likely return on our next trip to visit family in Chico. Breakfast is complimentary and menu is modern and wait staff is attentive. The elevator did get stuck but issue was quickly resolved. I recommend this property for families and couples.

Room Tip: We liked the second floor because we could take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaScott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. The next time you stay with us, let us know your room preference and we will attach permanent notes on your profile so that every time you stay with us we can put you in a room that is most comfortable to your needs. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely refurbished old hotel right in the heart of downtown old Chico. It is walking distance to all the great restaurants, shops, lounges and dance clubs and has a friendly accomodating staff. The room includes a $10.00 voucher for breakfast in their comfortable redtaurant. I had the best eggs benedict I've ever eaten. Go to the Diamond and hang out with the Chico college kids downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynthiaSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel Diamond is a classy place where parents can find solace amongst a busy college town. It is centrally located to everything, has 1st class amenities and a friendly staff. The free breakfast menu and food is good and the surrounding areas hold fun activities. My son took us river floating on an extremely hot day. We had such an enjoyable time and it allowed us to laugh and bond!

Room Tip: 213 king 316 two double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SojournerTraveler_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel Diamond . We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a nice hotel, centrally located in the Chico Downtown area, perfect for visits to the university and with many options for food and entertainment within a stone's throw.
Room decor is of the old school variety, but neat, clean and not too crowded. The only slight negative is the layout of the bathroom in the room I had, with a small shower stall and a sink located outside of the bathroom. Their addition of a free drink and 10 dollar breakfast coupon encourage you to use the restaurant, which is generally good, one of the nicer options in Downtown Chico in general. Will be back.
Lack of a fitness center may be annoying to some, it does offer access to some of the best fitness facilities in Chico, but this will require you to drive quite a way from the hotel, so it's not ideal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcdSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your time and positive review. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful. Super friendly staff. Located two blocks from the college and within walking distance of all the Chico landmarks (Madison Bear Garden, The Senator, etc) Very highly recommended.
Side note: rooms are not necessarily designed for families. Although our room had two queen beds, the room was small. However, the room was stunning and we were still very happy.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoffBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you. We take great pride in making sure our guests have the best experience possible. We look forward to your future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Property: Hotel Diamond
Address: 220 W 4th St, Chico, CA 95928-5315
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chico
#3 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diamond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing