We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond Hotel, Chico, California”
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Diamond Hotel, Chico, California”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Spent only onr night, but absolutely loved that hotel.

Completely redone recently, the hotel still kept its historical look and feel. Rooms are very spacious, clean and functional.

Personnel was very nice, very customer oriented.

Only had 1 meal at the hotel, a breakfast, and it was very good.

The hotel is well located, with restaurants and a Starbuck within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terraone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    63
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
67
85
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We liked the convenient downtown location, and the facility was quite nice. They had a very nice looking restaurant. Our room rate came with a complimentary breakfast, but we already had brunch plans with family so we couldn't fully partake. We did have a muffin and coffee and get to enjoy the lovely dining room.

The hostess in the dining room was very friendly and helpful. The front desk clerks were nice and knowledgeable about the hotel's history. We quite enjoyed that. So many times we ask a question about a place's history, and the young employee responds with "I don't know". This was very refreshing. The young man not only answered our question but went on to elaborate further about the hotel's history.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKW3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your time and positive review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our job to provide the best service possible. We hope that the next time you are here, you can partake in our complimentary breakfast and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My son and I went to Chico for summer orientation at Chico State. When we arrived after our 4 hour drive I checked into Hotel Diamond. My first impression was that this is going to be a great boutique hotel, the front desk (Mai) greeted me and explained everything about the hotel. My room was as cute as could be, I was thrilled. Unfortunately for my son, the plan for him to stay in on-campus housing for orientation was not as pleasant. I called the hotel and asked if there was a way we could accommodate him at the hotel? They (Hunter) immediately said they could move me to a double room, we came back to the hotel and switched into another lovely room. The best part about this hotel, is that whoever is working at the front desk can make things happen, they are given the authority and as a customer I really appreciate not being put on hold to "check". The next morning we went to breakfast, and again, was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant chef was cooking breakfast to order - also there were breads, cereals, fruit, juices and coffee. All this was included in the room price - no hot trays at Hotel Diamond. On last mention; while my son was off orientating at the school I went to the lounge and had another wonderful experience. This lounge isn't just for hotel guests, it has "locals" who come for their fantastic happy hour and again great service. My advice to you is book early and book often. Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Diamond, Johnnies, and Johnnies Lounge for a great stay.

Room Tip: If cost is the issue, the queen standard room is a great option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff also enjoys being able to accommodate your needs without having to go through multiple outlets to help make your stay as comfortable as possible. We offer so many fun and free amenities and it looks like you got the opportunity to enjoy a good amount of them. Hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELK GROVE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Helpful staff, even upgraded our room, a little pricey, but comfortable and great location. Food at Johnnies was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aschwegerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for time and positive review. It is our pleasure to provide the best service possible. We look forward to your future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

A great option to stay at when visiting kids attending Chico State. We have stayed at the Residence Inn and the Courtyard in Chico. Both are good options but Hotel Diamond is truly an upscale experience. Beds are very comfortable with upscale linens on the bed. Aveda products in the bathrooms. The hotel had the feel of an upscle San Francisco boutique hotel. The rooms are not much more expensive than the others mentioned and grant it the room was not a suite but it was a great option and bonus points for the free breakfast vouchers and the nice bar!

Room Tip: Our room did not face the street and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKEJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Hotel is perfect. I could walk to the home office, restaurants, Starbucks, and to the city square where it was nice to just sit and people watch. Rooms are clean. Breakfast is great, not like those feeding troughs at lesser hotels. Internet is fast and easy to hook up to.

Will stay hear again and each time I go to Chico.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wit1nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed one night for business and were pleased with the atmosphere, the amenities and definitely the location. Everything was of the best quality from the bedding to the Aveda bath products. Beautifully decorated and true to the period. Modern elevators, air-conditioning - so do not worry - the place only looks like a very comfy museum. You will love it. The food in the hotel's restaurant (Johnny's) is pretty good. We chose to stay in the lounge and try all of the tasty appetizers. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is free parking in the garage next door and loads of fun shops and eateries are within a short walking distance. Super location and easy to get to. Definitely a must if you visit Chico. Remember that the place is a century old so a standard room can be on the small side, but still well appointed and comfortable with all the goodies. Very tall ceilings and that helps. Splurge for a suite!

Room Tip: The rooms we had on the side away from the boulevard were fine. Just remember it is a historic build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iliad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#4 of 17 in Chico
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#6 of 17 in Chico
108 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Property: Hotel Diamond
Address: 220 W 4th St, Chico, CA 95928-5315
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chico
#3 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diamond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing