We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to love there!”
Review of Hotel Diamond

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diamond
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

It was great. The service was impeccable. The rooms make you feel like you are home. It has so much character. They have not left a thing out, you have a robe and house shoes, mending kit to q-tips and cotton balls; they have thought of everything. The restraurant "Johnnies" is great. The complimentary cook to order breakfast give Embassy Suites a run for their money. The hotel is located next to the college so there is a lot to do in the area. And best of all, the price was very easonable for such a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a corner room; very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginger l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 268 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

Nice employees, clean rooms, spacious bathrooms and good breakfast for three days in a row. Excellent location with walking distance to Starbucks, and great local shopping, restaurants and leisure space

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urbanboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Attentive service, pretty room, good bar, great location. I will be back!

Room Tip: Eastern facing rooms on 3rd floor face an alley and another building. Not unpleasant but if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wheattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I spent two nights at the Hotel Diamond. Restored and remodeled 6 years ago, the hotel is lovely. The furnishings are beautiful, and the staff very friendly and helpful. I was surprised to find that my very reasonable rate included two breakfasts, with omelets. Unlike other restored hotels I've been in, the Diamond had plenty of electrical outlets for charging electronics.
I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishnerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We took a trip to Northern California and Oregon in September 2011. What a great experience travelling along the coast and rounding therough the mountainous redwood forests. On the way we stayed in some excellent places but the highlight of the trip was our last night in Chico, CA when we found the Hotel Diamond tucked away just behind the main street of this lovely university town. The hotel has been restored to a classic yet modern structure. The rooms are extremely beautifu - I could have spent days there in my complimentary white bathrobe and slippers. The staff was very welcoming, they offered free parking, wireless throughout and the highlight....a full complementary omlette breakfast in their beautiful and classy restaurant in the morning. This hotel should be a "must stay" for anyone travelling to - or stopping over -in Chico California.

Room Tip: I would think that any room would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneesnod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We had a great stay at the Hotel Diamond. The room was very clean, with lots of windows, making it nice and bright. The staff was so helpful and knowledgeable when we asked them questions about Chico. The breakfast at Johnnie's was delicious. Overall, we would be back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all the great amenities we offer our guests. We hope you will spend more restful nights with us in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

The Hotel Diamond is a nice place to stay. The room was lovely and bright which make a change from a lot of US motels which alway seem to be very dark. Christine on reception was very helpful and checked with us that everything was ok, and it was. The breakfast was freshly cooked and very tasty. We will definitely return to Chico and the Hotel Diamond.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan B, Manager at Hotel Diamond, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We take great pride in providing the best service possible. We look forward to your future reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
565 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diamond

Address: 220 W 4th St, Chico, CA 95928-5315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chico
#3 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range: $167 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diamond 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Diamond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing