We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful new hotel, wonderful staff, a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Chico
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful new hotel, wonderful staff, a great stay!”
Reviewed June 5, 2005

We stayed 6 nights at the Residence Inn while I was in town for business.

The check-in process was very smooth, and the staff was very helpful and cooperative. We had a room that was a 1-room suite, with a separated bedroom/bathroom and living/kitchen area. This was VERY convenient, as I had to go to bed early to get up early for work. My husband was able to stay up as late as he wanted in the next room without keeping me up.

Our first impression of the room was, "WOW!" The whole suite is absolutely beautiful! The colors are bright and cheery, as you can see in the pictures. We were especially impressed with the kitchen and bathroom countertops- all done in Granite!!

The bed was beautiful and comfortable, and the shower very spacious. My only complaint about this would be that it was a queen bed- when I'm on vacation I like to stretch out in a king size bed, but it wasn't a huge deal, because we're used to a queen at home!

The exercise room was small, with only a stair machine, stationary bike, and treadmill, but there was rarely anyone in there and there were no problems getting in to work out.

The (outdoor) pool was small, though not postage-stamp sized! It was never overly crowded- most of the time we were the only ones using it! The hot tub was nice as well, and a great way to undwind the day. We always had it to ourselves- never had to share it!

Monday through Thursday nights, the Residence Inn provides a social hour from 5-7 pm where they serve different appetizers every night! This was a favorite activity for us every night before we went out to eat. Then, every night when we returned from dinner, they had a basket of hot cookies waiting for guests at the front desk as we walked in the door!

In addition, they serve complimentary contintental (and hot!) breakfast every morning, which was just delicious with a wide variety of foods. Different hot options every morning. The hours of breakfast ran from 6-10 am, but I had to leave the hotel by 5:45 am to make it to work. However, it seemed that they always had breakfast out by 5:30 am, so I was always able to get breakfast! The severs were friendly and always willing to accomodate.

The staff were among the best I've experienced at a hotel! Always smiling, greeting me as I came and went from the hotel. We were unfamiliar with Chico, and needed recommendations daily on the best places to eat. It was our tradition to stop by the front desk and ask the staff where we should eat. They always sent us to wonderful restaurants!

If you're traveling to Chico and are unfamiliar, here were our favorite restaurants in town: Sierra Nevada Brewery, Woodstock Pizza (WONDERFUL pizza!!), and Italian Cottage. Then of course, there's the California traidition- In N Out Burger!

Grocery stores in Chico seemed to be abundant, and we made a grocery trip at the beginning of our stay, and were able to save a lot of money eating lunch and snacks in our room.

I would recommend this hotel for absolutely ANYONE! This is, without question, the nicest hotel in Chico. A Courtyard is being built next door to the Residence Inn, but I would prefer this hotel because of the full kitchen, especially if you're spending anytime longer than 1 day. It was great to be able to bring left-overs home, and keep some cokes in our fridge!

This hotel is great for business travelers, but families as well. The two-room suites are apartment style, allowing kids and parents to have separate rooms with the common living area.

Overall a wonderful stay, and if we go back to Chico, we will be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank texasweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    35
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
19
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2005

We just returned from an overnight stay at the Residence Inn in Chico. This is a new hotel (built/opened in February 2005) and everything is nice, new, and clean.

We were very happy with our room. We stayed in a two room suite, each bedroom complete with a bathroom; firm queen-sized mattress that was covered with a comfortable down-style comforter and four reasonable pillows; and a 25" television. The living room had a gas fireplace, firm couch and chair, and another tv. Though the room was small (about 10' wide) properly sized furniture and a complementary color scheme made it a pleasant space to be in. The kitchenette attached to the living room had a small dining table with two chairs, full sized refrigerator, dish washer, two burner stove, microwave, and the essential accompaniment of plates and utensils.

The lobby was very pleasant. Chico can get quite warm, and the refreshingly air conditioned lobby quickly brings your body temperature back down to normal. There is a pleasant sitting area with the requisite television. A large container of regular and decafinated coffee are always on hand. This is also the breakfast room (breakfast is included with the price of your room).

The pool is not huge but it is great for splashing about with your kids. The pool (enclosed by a white metal fence) faces the hotel on two sides, and on the parking lot on the other two. Not the place to lay out and sip cocktails (glassware is not allowed in pool area anyway), but if you have kids it's perfectly nice. And pool towels are provided by the door leading from the lobby to the pool area.

The staff was very friendly. The desk people always greeted us with a smile, and even made time to talk to my four year old daughter about the nuances of her favorite stuffed animal.

The location of the hotel is right off of Highway 99. This is not a scenic location, nor did there appear to be anything of interest within reasonable strolling distance. So, if scenic beauty or downtown proximity are high on your list of requirements, this would not be the hotel for you. But if you are looking for a friendly, clean, and comfortable place to stay, the Residence Inn should suit you just fine.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric_and_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 3, 2005

Brand new hotel. When researching for a hotel we found nothing but old stuff. This is brand new and very nice. There is a choice of upgraded rooms. Feather pillows with a down comforter. Very clean and wonderfully nice staff.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2005

This Residence Inn is brand new, so it's great right now. New beds, towels, etc. They're building another Marriott right next door, so there is some constructon going on, but it didn't bother me. Room was good size, had a full kitchen. Good water pressure in the shower.
No room service, but they do have free breakfast. Also a pool & jacuzzi, and a tennis/basketball court. There is a workout room, but it was small and just had 3 cardio machines - no weights.
I'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerri_Blank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
996 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
259 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chico

Property: Residence Inn Chico
Address: 2485 Carmichael Dr, Chico, CA 95928-7132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chico
#4 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chico 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chico Hotel Chico
Chico Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing