We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day Disaster”

Christian Michaels Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Christian Michaels Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 319 Restaurants in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wall Street
Description: A unique downtown dining experience. Located on the corner of Third and Wall Streets in downtown Chico, Christian Michaels prepares California Cuisine, Italian, Mediterranean, Asian and other seasonal dishes to tempt your palate. Selections include fresh seafood, steak, pasta, salads, desserts, a full bar and an extensive wine selection. Allow us to host your next business luncheon, reception or any other celebration.
Chico, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Disaster”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Staff: My bf and I were ignored by the bartender for more than 10 mins. He then had to ask us several times to repeat our order, while two members of the host staff approached us four separate times to ask what name our reservations were under (after spending a minute at the reception desk repeating the name). A half hour after the time of our reservation, we were seated by a hostess who did wait for me to get my coat and purse before walking off. My boyfriend’s chair was so rickety he felt it was going to break, so he sat next to me on the bench during parts of our time there. At the end of the meal and as we were receiving our check from the waitress, a male employee rudely told him to return to his chair and did not respond to our complaint that the chair was about to break.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    41
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Second choice”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Once you get past the crowded social bar to get a seat it is fine. The service and food were very good. This time it was a second chioce as our choice was close for a special event so we discovered this place, we will go again!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The "Go to" place in Chico”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

No place in Chico beats Christian Michaels' chef special between 5 and 6:00 p.m. No one even comes close: crisp cold salad, hot generous entrée, and delicious dessert--all beautifully prepared for low $20s per person. I'm a beef eater, but brought home a portion of the perfectly cooked tenderloin. Super value for excellent food. Can't understand why Trip Advisor doesn't rate this place in the top couple for Chico.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tsainta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, CA
1 review
“Special Wedding Rehearsal Dinner”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

With the help of Manager Kristen Carlos at Christian Michaels Ristorante our family celebrated a memorable wedding rehearsal dinner in October 2013. Living in the Bay Area and not knowing Chico very well, I was thrilled with how easy Kristen made the reservation process, the meal selection, the wine selection, etc. And when we arrived for the dinner, all was as promised. With seating for 30 we were able to include, in addition to the wedding party, all our traveling relatives from the East Coast. The setting was magical, the food delicious and the excellent service by our waiter kept every guest happy. We couldn't ask for more and I would highly recommend this restaurant for dinner or your next event!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twinfinnmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a great lunch.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We love to dine at Christian Michaels for lunch. The food is always wonderful. Their ciopinno is the best. Great service. I love the fact that the owner is usually there to visit and he truly cares about his customers and downtown Chico. Next time we go I will post pictures. It will help people see what they are missing. Thanks Christian!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nutmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christian Michaels Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Christian Michaels Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing