We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant & Cozy, Japanese restaurant”
Review of Japanese Blossoms

Japanese Blossoms
Ranked #47 of 314 Restaurants in Chico
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very pleasant & Cozy, Japanese restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our great friend and inspiring guy Rudy Giscombe was a regular solo musician here and he introduced us several years back... The food is good, the atmosphere is simple but nice and I can still hear Rudy's saxophone drifting thru my mind as we eat our Bento Box combo's and reminisce.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank clayton-paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but Pricey”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Honestly I stopped paying for sushi a long time ago, you can easily make your own sushi at home. I loved their rolls but the nigiri (piece of fish layed on top of rice) was the best. Salmon nigiri there is very good!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanShidyak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Fare”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

They have recently expanded the restaurant and now have a nice bar area close to the entrance. The menu is expansive and very, very good. Service was prompt and very efficient. We go here every few months for our sushi fix.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enkidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great variety of sushi!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Chico is blessed with many very good restaurants but Japanese Blossoms has to rank in the top tier for service and quality of Japanese style cuisine. Amazing variety of sushi and other Japanese specialty dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 49erbacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never coming back”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We are here the other night, and sat in the bar area to be away from the noise of the main room. We were eating our meal and the OWNER pulled one of the Chefs from the kitchen and fired him 5feet behind us. When we told her she was ruining our meal by having this private conversation in front of customers, she cried. Then she said that she would "rip up our check" and not charge us for the meal, and sure enough, they still did!! I suggest you go anywhere but here. Do not support bad business practices and infringements on employee rights.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lilteebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Japanese Blossoms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing