We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecomoically sound deal”
Review of Safari Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Safari Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I was passing trough Chico heading up to Oregon and I heard about Safari Inn at the gas station . When I reached the hotel which is very close to Arco I was greeted by the general manager who was very friendly and gave me a very good deal on the room. Inside the room I had a comfortable bed to sleep on and a television that worked. This room was very clean. I enjoyed my stay. Hte management was very nice and the rooms were exceptionally clean. THe price was great very afforable below adertised price

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heavymetal_man66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Safari Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 49 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2009

Only a matter of time. I have been staying in Motels in this part of town for decades. Have watched this one deteriorate for years as well. I certainly have no prob with the new Indian family that own it. Put in wifi, and seem nice enough. Have always wondered how they made it there tho, since I have never seen the place full and usually, a ghost town.

Still, a creature of habit, I dropped in there yesterday afternoon. Dead empty. "How much for as room tonight for one?". $50!. The highest I ever paid there.. and for a Sun night? In this economy? For the first time, I went back to town and dropped into a chain, which I hate. $50 too, but what a diff..... It is one thing when you dev a relationship with a mom and pop shop. But when they are conspicuously ripping you off? This place is done. Move on.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfkjeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

Worst place I have stayed in a while...I know why it was the only motel availble to stay at as the a/c barely worked the beds were terrible and the linens were there when settlers first came to California.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bobcombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

What gracious owners! We arrived late at night, and they upgraded us to a better room without cost, without us even asking. Then they checked with us to be sure it met our needs Everyone was very pleasant, the room clean and comfortable. The owners and their son helped us map our way to cool places to visit in Chico. Our son is in college in Chico and we look forward to staying at the Safari Inn when next we visit!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ValderieValdera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

The Safari has had a bad rep. due to past owners who haven't kept up the property or provided good service. The Indian family who runs the Safari now was very helpful. Friends who had given up on the Safari were surprised to see the positive changes. Rooms were clean, bathroom was fine. Carpet looked new. Furniture is so out of style it is almost back in-style. But everything was very neat. Rooms are quiet. Other friends were happily ensconced beside the pool when we arrived. For 55 bucks, this place did the job!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesatrip13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

We chose the Safari Inn in Chico because it is relatively close to downtown and we needed something cheap. The money would have been better spent at a Motel 6 or something similar. Dealing with the proprietor was fine but as we approached our unit, it was quite obvious that several "guests" were actually residents of the hotel. There were also several young men walking through the parking lot who had all the appearance of gang bangers and upon returning to the hotel in the late evening there was a prostitute loitering near the entrance of the property.

The property itself was nice enough. A little run down but about the same as all economy hotels. The property is mixed into a series of other small economy hotels/motels on one of Chico's main streets. But the area is economically depressed and there is a trailer park immediately next door.

The room was fine but we would not stay in this hotel again.

Thank hoots_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We arrived at the Safari Motel around 2:00 p.m. on a Saturday. Checking in was quick and uneventful. We got a room in the back of the facility, upstairs. My first impression of the room when I opened the door was a slight mustiness, and thin, worn carpets. The bathroom was somewhat clean, although dirt in the corners was visible. When I closed the front door, I could see alot of light coming in between the door jamb and the door, and the door rattled slightly, even when the deadbolt was in place, when you pulled at the doorknob. At 12:30 am Sunday morning, I awoke to hear someone rattling the door, attempting to open it. I got out of bed, listened for a moment, then slammed the door with my hand. I looked out the window but whoever was monkeying around had left. I got back into bed, and the phone began to ring. I answered it, a strange voice asked, "Who is this?" I figured it a crank call, cursed, and hung up. Didn't get back to sleep for hours. Next morning, I explained our experience to the desk clerk.

Apparently, Safari management had failed to note our room as occupied, and had assigned it to a second party, who attempted access to our room. The subsequent 12:40 am phone call had been placed by the front desk, yet they failed to notify me as to who they were at the time. My wife requested a discount due to their inconveniencing us, and the fellow at the desk said "Next time." There won't be a next time. Trust me.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScooterDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
572 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
2.3 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
3.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Address: 2352 Esplanade, Chico, CA 95926-1902
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range: $61 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Safari Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing