We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ken”
Review of La Familia

La Familia
Ranked #62 of 314 Restaurants in Chico
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chico, California
1 review
“Ken”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Great food , Chico Best kept secret, Shrimp tacos and shrimp salad are my favorite! Quick service great for lunch or dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Keep wanting to go back!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

In my opinion, best authentic Mexican food in Chico! Love everything I have tried so far and I want to keep going back for more! Something different to try would be the Pupusas. You won't regret trying it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank val2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderful restaurant and people”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went here on a whim with my roommate when we lived on Nord, and it became our "spot." Went here every week! Now we make the "trek" from downtown when we want really good Mexican food. The family who owns and works at this place are great, the woman always remembers us. Great salsa, great beans .. I still order off the kids menu and it's plenty to eat! Nice about splitting the check, too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shingletown, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Was very pleased with this find.”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Although this place has high marks, upon arrival in the safeway shopping center area, the restraunt didn't appear that good. But, you can't judge a book by it's cover, they say. So we went in and the place was busy. The food smelled wonderful. There was only one waitress, but she was very attentive. Our orders were taken and each delivered piping hot. The looks of the platter of food was good. The smells even better, but the taste was the best I have ever tasted. Everything was fresh and cooked to order, nothing appeared or tasted to have been frozen. Our table had a little of everything, from the super burrito to the chicken mole and taco salads. I can't express enough how fresh and wonderful the food here was. The only bad thing I can say is that the margarita I had contained more shaved ice than beverage. But overall, the listed drinks were well priced. There were 4 of us and full dinners and drinks came to less than $50. Outstand food and very friendly folks. Next time we are in Chico, we will go back to this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forefrnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Carnitas are great”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great food. I had the carnitas and they were the bomb!!
They give you good portions. My lunch plate came with beans, rice, carnitas & tortillas.
They also included chips & salsa for free!!
The price was reasonable. I will be coming back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyV_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Familia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing