We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets all basic needs”
Review of Super 8 Chico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Chico
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meets all basic needs”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here while moving my son into Chico State dorms. Hotel exterior is clean as was the lobby. Pool is clean but quite small. Our room (314) was tastefully decorated with two full-sized beds. There was a small table with 2 chairs, frig., microwave and small coffeemaker. Room was clean and a/c was great. Wall hair dryer in bathroom. Also an ironing board and iron-they worked just fine. Beds were comfortable. Best hotel mattress I can recall in recent past. I would stay here again no problem, but might also try Motel 6 right next door because their pool was a little bit larger.

When staying in an economy motel I expect a clean room with the basics. Super 8 provided this during my experience. Don't stay here if you have expensive tastes. Oh yes, there is NO elevator!!!!! No big deal to us but it might be to some travelers. Washing machine and dryer available to guests next to 1st floor ice machine. I believe it was $1.50 to wash and $1.50 to dry.

Free breakfast in morning was not that great and we skipped it and went to a restaurant. The breakfast area is very small but provides coffee, tea, make-your-own waffles, cinnamon rolls in plastic wrap, bananas and some oatmeal. There might have been a few other small things but don't expect eggs, bacon, potatoes, toast, etc. that some other hotels provide in their free breakfasts.

Super 8, Motel 6 and Holiday Inn are all clustered together around a Denny's. Conveniently located right next to the freeway but was still quiet.

Room Tip: The back of our door indicated that the 3rd floor is the only floor that provides smoking rooms. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookGirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting our your stay with us.
As a valued member of the Super 8 Chico, your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!


--Best Regards--
Jennifer R
Head Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    127
    78
    33
    26
See reviews for
150
52
33
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Clean and the management were responsive when we complained about the noisy upstairs neighbors marching around the room and slamming doors all night, and we do mean all night. One of the light switches on a lamp was broken.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an odd number. Those rooms are on the side of the building away from the freeway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_M_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting our your stay with us.
As a valued member of the Super 8 Chico, your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!


--Best Regards--
Jennifer R
Head Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We just got back from our stay. Visiting the university for orientation.
Pros: very large room that included fridge and micro, inexprnsive, good safe location, nice little pool situated so the sun hits in the afternoon, sizeable bsthroom, had table with 3 chairs and two lounging chairs. Beds were comfortable.
Cons: staff were abrupt, not once did they smile, there are no elevators (and the two queen rooms, which u pay more for, are on the third floor), there is no spa. It said 101 on the temp gauge when we arrived, but there was no air on in the room and it was HOT! It took over an hour for it to cool down. The breakfast was okay, but apparently u cant run the toaster at the same time as the waffle maker. Everything was clean, but rundown and musty. My daughter even said for a non smoking floor it smelled like smoke. There werent enough towels, but i wasnt going up and down 3 flights to get more. The negative signs about everything u cant do and cant have didnt leave a pleasant reflection. And, this usnt that big a deal, but the layout of our room was weird...the bathroom door ws directly in front of the beds when typically its around the corner. Whenever someone got up to use the bathroom, the light shined directly onto the people in bed.
Forcwha

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting our your stay with us.
As a valued member of the Super 8 Chico, your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!


--Best Regards--
Jennifer R
Head Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
537 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
1.8 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.3 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
1.7 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chico

Property: Super 8 Chico
Address: 655 Manzanita Ct, Chico, CA 95926-2359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chico 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chico Super 8 Hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 99 - Exit 387A Cohasset Road/Mangrove avenue. Free Continental Breakfast, Free High Speed Internet, Pet allowed with a fee, Seasonal Pool, Free HBO. Hotel is 3 floors with interior stairs and hallways. Reminder - No elevator so please request 1st floor if needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Chico
Chico Super 8
Chico Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing