We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of cancellation policy!”
Review of Super 8 Chico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Chico
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware of cancellation policy!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked this hotel for a busy school weekend. Price was much higher than average- booked through Expedia claiming no cancellation fees- well the hotel has there own. I tried to cancel 6 days before our trip and the hotel said they charged $50 per night per room to cancel. Since we were stuck staying here (all others were booked in town) we did. What a nightmare- Hotel was really gross, everything was old, dirty & run down I was afraid to touch anything in the room. Could not sleep a wink. Loud freeway noise among other strange noises the room made. We were on the 3rd floor (no elevators) just cement steps to drag your luggage up & down. I Didn't dare try the breakfast. Next time I would rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldhhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, General Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Sorry for your issue with our cancellation policy. During high season when several events are happening on the same weekend we change the cancellation policy from 24hrs prior to up to 7 days in advance. This allows others the chance to also book these rooms. If people cancel the night prior or day of, other guests have lost the chance to book the room. All hotels usually have 24hrs in advance cancellation policy if not cancel by them they can charge you a full nights stay. We have chosen to get a cancellation fee which is usually half of the cost of the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    127
    77
    33
    26
See reviews for
149
52
33
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
GILROY
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Room (Suite) was very nice and big enough for the four of us. Everything was really clean and neat but could use an elevator for the rooms on the second and third floors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank ALICE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments.
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sorry, no elevator available, recommend when making reservation request lower floor.
Our staff takes great pride in the hotel & always strives to provides excellent service.
Thank you again & we look forward seeing you again in the future.

--Best Regards--
Jennifer R
Head Front Desk Clerk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We got was a great sized room. The interior design of the room was pleasing. I seem to have loved all the workers there the longer we stayed, they were really nice people. Breakfast wasn't the best but it was okay. No one rarely went to the pool so I loved that too. The pool area was beautiful. No elevator but I was fine with it. The place was very close to stores within a 10 min. walk.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PangandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, General Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting our your stay with us.
As a valued member of the Super 8 Chico, your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!


--Best Regards--
Mr Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very nice hotel in the price range we were looking for. We got upgraded to a bigger room which worked for us really well. Kids enjoyed the pool which was nicely warmed by the sun. Rooms are a little dated but clean and maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, General Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting our your stay with us.
As a valued member of the Super 8 Chico, your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!


--Best Regards--
Mr Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

These were the best of times and the worst of times...

We were grateful that pets were allowed ($10/pet) but this is the first hotel where we've stayed with a warning sign at the entrance: Absolutely No Marijuana Allowed.

That kind of set the tone for the place. Actually, the staff was helpful, the room was clean and the television and air conditioning worked.

Who could ask for anything more?

Room Tip: Request a first floor room as there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitzouTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, General Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting our your stay with us.
As a valued member of the Super 8 Chico, your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!


--Best Regards--
Mr Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chico hotels

North Pole, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A 3 story hotel with no elevator. The staff was friendly and helpful. The "Quick Start" breakfast was a joke. For the price in the area it is adequate hotel. While we were there the parking lot was full, with construction equipment taking more than their share of the parking, so finding parking for a full size car was difficult.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, General Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting our your stay with us.
As a valued member of the Super 8 Chico, your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!


--Best Regards--
Mr Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugene or
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stay in motels all over the country. This was one of the nicest. Our room was bigger than what we've had a Marriott's. The king bed was very nice. Yes the toilet handle needed a jiggle sometimes. Shampoo/conditioner problem? Any traveler that bases the room on the freebie shampoo needs to borrow some of my motel experiences to worry about. Our room was clean, had micro/fridge, table, desk for work, was bright and pleasant. The price was decent, not too high nor too low. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: With the window open there is traffic noise from the street, so if that's an issue for you, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugencandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Chico, General Manager at Super 8 Chico, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for commenting our your stay with us.
As a valued member of the Super 8 Chico, your feedback is very important to us and I can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.
We know you have a choice in hotels and we are delighted that you chose ours. We hope to see you again!


--Best Regards--
Mr Patel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
537 reviews
1.8 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.3 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
1.7 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Chico

Property: Super 8 Chico
Address: 655 Manzanita Ct, Chico, CA 95926-2359
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Chico 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chico Super 8 Hotel is conveniently located just off Highway 99 - Exit 387A Cohasset Road/Mangrove avenue. Free Continental Breakfast, Free High Speed Internet, Pet allowed with a fee, Seasonal Pool, Free HBO. Hotel is 3 floors with interior stairs and hallways. Reminder - No elevator so please request 1st floor if needed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Chico
Chico Super 8
Chico Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing