We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful experience Super Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Valley Center, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience Super Friendly Staff”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Upon checking in we were greeted by a young man who immediately made us feel welcome and expected. As we were checking in we were told about the continental breakfast offered in the morning. We really enjoyed this as we are travelling and the fresh coffee, juice, fruits, cereal and danishes got our vacation days off to a relaxed and fun start. In the room we were pleasantly surprised to see a small refrigerator which we were able to save money by eating some meals in our room. We enjoyed the local restaurants daily and were able to bring back left over to heat in the microwave that this Americas Best Value Inn also has in each room. There is a coffee maker in the room and they provide an excellent coffee to brew in the room. The rooms are very clean and tidy, new carpets and nice furniture. Nice pillows and bedding....very important to me! The maids were polite and accomodating. Television complete with movie channels and remote control...I love HBO. The internet is the fastest i have ever experienced. Really enjoying this internet connection as i can explore all that this area has to offer online. Love this location as it is in walking distance to the quaint downtown Chico. This is a town of bicyclers and people out for evening strolls among the cute little downtown shops. Right across the street from here is a Natural Food store. You know how that attracts those holistic health minded people. Within walking distance are several art galleries and little event gathering spots. Good family fun! For those of us that love mexican food i was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the Mexican Restaurant 3 minutes walking time away. Met the owner of this ABVI and she wanted to make sure we were satisfied with our stay. So satisfied I had to leave a review! My family and I will be back here for summer events here in town. There are Concerts in the park on Friday and Saturday early evenings, all summer long and a Farmers Market that is more like a big family gathering every Thursday afternoon and Saturday mornings both of these are within walking distance from this Americas Best Value Inn!

Room Tip: they are very accomodating to your need at this Americas Best Value Inn here in Chico. We had speci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SodashiDevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest:
We were delighted to have you stay with us, we hope to see again very soon. Thank you for sharing, enjoy your summer...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    8
    6
    16
See reviews for
14
9
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This place used to be a Days Inn, and unlike other ABVI properties that I've stayed at, hasn't seen much improvement since its takeover. Location is decent, being very close to downtown Chico. It's also VERY noisy because you're at the intersection of two major streets and close to frat and sorority houses; not much you can do about that other than being prepared to deal with it (good earplugs!). Room was clean, no issues with check-in or check-out. Wireless Internet worked OK, although for some reason I kept having to 'sign in'. Forget about the free continental breakfast and walk across the street to the Tin Roof Bakery.

In 2009 and 2010 I did two long scooter trips down the California coast to visit all the old missions. Since I traveled in early May, I was making reservations as I went along and ended-up at several Americas Best Value properties (made an effort to avoid big chain motels). Seems like the franchise locates bargain places for sale, renovates them, and rebrands as ABVI. Every one of them was a real 'find'. All were unique, and I can honestly say that they were a real value. This place in Chico, not so much.

Room Tip: Upstairs MIGHT be a little quieter than downstairs, but I doubt it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twowheelsReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad that we were able to meet your needs and would like to thank you for your feedback as it helps us to continue improving.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is the worst place I've ever stayed in HANDS DOWN. Never before have I had such an unpleasant stay at a motel. Here we are (12:18AM), just really getting into our deep sleep when BANG!!! We hear a huge loud noise. It was a group of three, thug looking gangsters (complete with du-rags and all) who had opened our door. They acted like it was their room and I told them leave, and after about a minute of deliberation they did. It was the most distressing thing when you are supposed to feel and be secure in your room to have this happen. When I complained to management they refused to give me my money back and only refunded me for the next day that I had reserved. Bottom line. This place is terrible. Terrible management, turns out when I talked to people in the area they have a terrible reputation, terrible rooms, scary people came into my room (never thought that'd happen to me). This place just sucks. Stay away from it.
You've been warned.

Room Tip: Rooms anywhere else will be better. Makes a motel 6 feel like a 5 star.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjordanbaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We encourage every problem to be reported right away so that we can investigate the issue right away. However, we did not hear from anyone in your party at all until checkout. At checkout, you told us that someone tried to get into your room but they were not able to because you had your security latch on. Our doors do come equipped with an electronic lock, a deadbolt, and a security latch. The deadbolts and the security latch prevent anyone from entering the room, even if they somehow had a key. Our goal is your complete satisfaction, but at the morning of check out, we were unable to refund your night directly because you had booked your room through a third party site. However, we made sure that third party refunded your full stay. We have confirmed with them that you received that credit.

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chico hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

In all my years of travel, I can not remember staying in a worse place. The door has patched bullet holes. The walls show evidence of punch hole repairs. The room had one queen bed when we reserved two queens. The doors barely close. The pillows are cheap and overstuffed. The hotel is noisy, dirty and dumpy! Yuck!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellots4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello, please know that your feedback is valued as we continue to improve. We do have high standards to adhere to as a franchise and our quality assurance inspections and can assure you there are no bullet holes in our doors. Chico is a very safe place to be. Even if we are downtown, Chico is known for one of the most unique and inviting down towns. I am not sure if you needed two beds, why would you stay in a room with one bed. We do have one and two beds available for your convenience and are always able to give you what you need. Our goal is to have take care of you so you will want to come back. Thank you for your feedback.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

For a one night stay it was just Ok. Average cleanliness, for an average price. Had a room that was right on the road which could have been a problem. Being a seasoned hotel traveller I always have ear plugs for sleeping. Location is great, able to walk dowontown to see a show and drink too much and walk back. This I suppose helped me ignore the noise and moderate cleanliness. I did a thorough inspection of the bedding and pillows upon arrival. No weird stains, no bugs but there was some random hairs. Was not thrilled with the bathroom towels, were worn out and stained. If you are on a budget this place is accceptable. Would not recommend for familes, or others looking for a quite place to stay. Will most likely stay elsewhere next time I am in Chico

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TRC70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review, and do apologize for your inconvenience. We take all comments seriously and do appreciate your feedback. We encourage our guests to communicate any issue with us so that we can fix it right away and have your stay be an enjoyable one. Please know cleanliness is a top priority and conduct room inspections to minimize any one thing left behind. Thank you again for your valued feedback.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My room was very clean and it had a nice king bed. I like the free wirless and free breakfast and I must say, was very impressed with the parking lot. I have been to hotels that are very difficult when it comes to parking being so cramped. The pool was closed due to the season. Overall i had a very nice stay

Room Tip: The jacuzzy rooms are extra charge but worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIChico, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2017
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is of upmost importance to provide you with the best customer service and your nice comments reflect our actions, and we thank you for that. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Feel free to stay with us again as it would be very appreciated.

Best Regards,
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnes
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms were clean. The price was reasonable. Located in downtown Chico on Broadway Street. Stayed 5 nights. Lady at the desk was very friendly. Another day there was a man, and he was not friendly. You can walk from this motel to many stores,and restaraunts. The worst thing is the noise. Traffic noise was pretty bad, and Police sirens are heard often.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVIChico, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2017
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time out to write a review. We would also like to thank you for the nice comments you had. All of our employees should provide friendly customer service and the fact you did not recieve that is unacceptable. We will try our best to resolve that issue. As for the noise our nice downtown location suffers from the street noise and there is not much we can do there. If you decide to stay with us again we reccomend that you suggest a middle corner room to reduce the street noise. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Best Regards
Americas Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Property: Americas Best Value Inn
Address: 740 Broadway St, Chico, CA 95928-5528 (Formerly Chico Days Inn)
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
America's Best Value Inn Chico is placed right in the middle of beautiful downtown Chico! We are walking distance from all the best restaurants and night life that Chico has to offer. We are also only a short distance away from certain attractions such as Sierra Nevada Brewery, One Mile Recreation Area, and only walking distance to California State University Chico, as well as Bidwell Mansion. While you're enjoying your stay with us in Chico, don't forget to visit Bidwell Park, the 3rd largest Municipal Park in the country! Bidwell Park features attractions such as swinning holes like Bear & Salmon Hole, and others such as the Diversion Dam. Chico is a great place for recreational travelers, and business travelers alike. When visiting don't forget to call America's Best Value Inn Chico, where it's our mission to make your stay as comfortable as can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Chico
Chico Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing