We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar go for Happy Hour good prices on drinks and small plates”
Review of Tres Hombres

Tres Hombres
Ranked #14 of 318 Restaurants in Chico
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Chico, California
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great bar go for Happy Hour good prices on drinks and small plates”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A go to spot to be seen in Chico at night. We love their happy hour prices on drinks and small plates. They have wonderful margaritas and a nice outside patio. Complimentary chips and salsa too. The atmosphere is very nice inside and we have celebrated many a birthday there where you can reserve a table if you have ten people. The service is great and the bar area is very nice. It gets very crowded with students and the general public so sometimes there is a wait. There is also a taco bar where you can sit and drink too. The food is good and our favorite small plate is the chicken nachitos, a good portion at happy hour at a good price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGoddess61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    65
    30
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tres is the place”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Tres Hombres is located very close to Chico State so it gets al lot of student activity during the school year mostly on Thursday-Saturday evenings. No matter it is still a fun place for all ages to enjoy some great Tex-Mex food, a very good margarita or a pint of ale. They have outdoor seating if you get there early.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank elTigre45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“yummy”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were in Chico to visit with friends and family. We were there on a Saturday in October we had a large group of 9 and the downtown area was very busy. We had very good service and the food was very good. I had the fajitas and they were very good. The atmosphere was very festive. Our group will definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better Places to Eat In Chico!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We read the reviews in the local paper and they said that this restaurant was good. We had fish tacos and fajitas and they were tasty, but where was the fish! In each taco there was about a 2mm piece of fish and the rest was a filling of salsa and lettuce. I was really disappointed in both choices. The margaritas were supposed to be good but they were weak! It cost $23 per pitcher and they were small pitchers. Bottom line - if you really know what good Mexico food tastes like - avoid this place and go somewhere else as it wasn't work the money we spent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RENOTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Callifornia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great food, service, and atmosphere. How can you go wrong? We dine here every time we visit Chico - would not miss it! Great tacos, but the guacamole is to die for!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TByrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tres Hombres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing