We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homeless Shelter”
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
University Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Homeless Shelter”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Booked the reservation through Expedia because hotels were in short supply and the Vagabond was near the university. Photos looked ok online and it is a national chain. WOW...what a dump! It has turned into a residential hotel. The breakfast was a pot of bad coffee, there was noise all night long, and the parking lot was a zoo. Clerk was too busy smoking to check us in. The manager was a complete b----. We moved to a small quiet hotel outside of town. What a relief!

Room Tip: Sleep in your car.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rungreencoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    5
    7
    35
See reviews for
15
10
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, Ca.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed one night at this motel. The cost was $295/night because it was graduation weekend, which is also why we were there. The receptionist was very sweet, but that was it. The room supposedly was non-smoking; it reeked of cigarette smoke and the bed spread had burn holes in them. The floors were dirty, obviously not vacumed. There was no way we could haved changed rooms since the whole town was booked way in advance. I could have accepted the high cost if at least it was clean and not smelly. Do not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SzGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chico hotels

Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I regret don't take a looak at these reviews before I made my reservation. I needed to spend a night in a place close to CSU Chico. I didn't expect too much for the price but I never thought that the rudeness was the price that I have to pay for a cheap hotel. I don't know the name of the lady clerk, maybe in her late 40s, awful costumer service, she doesn't belong to the hospitality business, poor thing, it seems like she is very frustated with her job,

Room Tip: STAY AWAY of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I stayed during the month of January for 2 nights. The exterior of the building put me off a little bit, but when I got into the front office the clerk was very nice and presentable to boot. The room that I checked into was not overly fancy but it was clean. The maid service was prompt during my stay over and breakfast was decent. All in all for the price I paid I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAtraveler1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I always try and find something good to say, so the room was clean. Other than that yikes!!!
I am the first one to say don't expect much from discount hotels but we all still expect some comfort and honesty in advertising. Rock hard beds and carpets that smell like smoke (In a non-smoking room). The body towels were barely bigger than hand towels. Continental breakfast consisted of a few packets of oatmeal and instant coffee. I usually don't expect a special breakfast but this was ridiculous and I consider false advertising.
I rated it poor just because the room was clean.

Room Tip: Keep driving to another hotel. Lots of outdoor stuff in Chico so I rated the fitness center as excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Provincialman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Since I come from a densely urban area, the noise factor did not bother me too much. I wear ear plugs and bring my own sheets and quilt at any motel I go. The room was cleaner than reviews here belie. And walking distance from Downtown and Bidwell park, etc. is a major plus. However, because the rooms under me were smoking rooms, using the heater caused my room to fill with smoke residual. Someone has large dogs on the first floor that are never let out and they bark hysterically at any passer by. Suffice it to say, even on a weeknight there were sketchy characters and rooms jammed full of people. The room key repeatedly did not work, so I got in my stair master work outs to have it repeatedly recalibrated. The "live ins" stared out the window in Charles Manson fashion, or repeatedly approached me until the last day I asked him to leave me alone and he started screaming at me. The staff is slow, rude, and uninformative. Jaded. The morning desk clerk even burped in front of me and then took up my time to explain to me how she had the hiccups. Because I paid cash, she had to examine my room before she gave me back my $50 deposit and she moved really slow walking back from the room, as she observed me outside the office avoiding the crazy "live in". Young and not so very overweight, there's no excuse for this. And that's what $55 gets you in Chico.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank girlanddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magalia ca
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2011

this is the nastyiest place i have ever stayed did not even make it thru the night first room had dirty towels still in it no ice machine lady at the counter was very rude dogs barking in room down stairs moved us to another room smelled like homeles people urinated inn it on the way back to office to get a refund people living inn next room were making oxycotton deal wrght in the open if you want scabies rabies or nasty used condom babies i would not go there

Room Tip: went across the street to days inn payed twenty dollars more for a great room and a hot breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loyd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn Express Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Chico
Oxford Suites Chico
#1 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Chico
Residence Inn Chico
#5 of 17 in Chico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#7 of 17 in Chico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Property: University Inn
Address: 630 Main St, Chico, CA 95928-5616 (Formerly Vagabond Inn Chico)
Location: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn Chico hotel is centrally located in Downtown Chico, California. We deliver clean, comfortable accommodations, quality amenities, a pleasant staff, affordable prices and classic, West Coast hospitality to each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Chico Hotel Chico
Vagabond Hotel Chico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing