We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oasis among college bars”
Review of Monks Wine Bar - CLOSED

Monks Wine Bar
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sacramento
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“oasis among college bars”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Great menu of small plates, very nice beer and wine selection. Entrees didn't seem that exciting so we just ordered small plates. Good value.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank duettonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    15
    6
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great surprise, and an amazing meal.”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I was so surprised to find a restaurant of this quality subdued on a side street in downtown Chico. My dinner was so amazing, I went back again the next afternoon before we left town. Everything fresh, I had a homemade pasta that I can still remember. The wine pairing is fun and selection was very nice. I can not wait until my next trip to Chico!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rudiandjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The BEST Restaurants in Chico!”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We first visited Monks about 6 months ago and have been back about every week since. The service is fantastic and the food is so good I am without words to adequately describe it. My husband said the Maui Maui he had on Friday was the best he has ever had. The atmosphere is romantic and the staff is so knowledgeable about wine it is insane. We LOVE this place I cannot beleive it is not ranked higher. It is definitely one of the top 5 places to eat in Chico.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimmichka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We love Monks as a "restaurant/bar alternative. They have a nice atmosphere, interesting wines and nice food. It is a nice place to enjoy an appetizer and a glass of wine.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank danny j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville, NV
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great views of the "freak action"”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Get one of the window seats, this is magic! Cats on leashes and weirdos with hairless dogs with pink rhinestone dresses. Okay, about the review of the restaurant....good vibe, not bad prices, good selection of wine/beer/bubbly. The small plates are the way to go- but don't ask about the ingredients...they don't want to give away their secrets! Overall I would recommend this place for a romantic night out or a starter to a bigger evening ahead! And Paris Hilton may just grace your presence as server (secret twin?).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mellisnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing