We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chico's best hidden gem.”
Review of Leon Bistro

Leon Bistro
Ranked #6 of 314 Restaurants in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: One of Chico's finest dinner restaurants.Open for dinner Wed. through Sat. at 5 pm.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Chico's best hidden gem.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

First thing to mention is, make a reservation. We waited 35 minutes for a table at their quaint bar. They only serve beer and wine. Our server was Lizzie and she was knowledgable about the specials for that eveing only. My husband was going to order the Surf and Turf "Hanger Steak and Halibut", but once he heard the Scallop and Veggie plate he swiched. I ordered the Artichoke crusted Halibut, white beans and greens. It is the BEST Halibut I have had in years. Very well presentation. Great atmosphere and ambience. Our service was slow due to it being PACKED, so we didn't mind so much. The dress code varies from street casual to suits and ties. Be comfortable. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant for family dinners because of the cost that would be involved. Our order was 3 glasses of "special menu" wine and 1 beer and two dinners, came to $112.00 not including tip. Yes it's pricy, but worth every dollar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Django G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    15
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Comfortable, unpretentious atmosphere with great ambience. The wine list is heavy on reds but has a full selection of whites to please anyone. Our waiter was knowledgable about the selections and helped us narrow our choices with great results. The food was beautifully prepared . My artichoke crusted haddock with green Thai aioli was one of the best dishes I have eaten. If I had to critique this most memorable restaurant, it would be that the portions were large and to enjoy the luscious grilled stone fruit and the wide selections of desserts, it would be worth paying the split plate charge and savor all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MAB2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Superb, Inventive Cuisine... in Chico...? Yes....”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After experiencing some of the best restaurants in the world, El Bulli ( Roses, Spain ) & Noma ( Copenhagen ), we have a top standard to compare other restaurants to... When Leon Bistro opened in Chico a few years ago, we had a great meal and then forgot about it for awhile. It's among the most expensive places in our small Northern California town, but the food experience is nevertheless worthy... Now having repeated the trip several times in the past month, I can pledge that you will be excited with the food here. Ann has trained in the Bay Area, receiving top honors from the S.F. California Culinary Academy, then a stint at the famed "garden to table" Chez Panisse set her on a course to success... This is a wonderful addition to our growing culinary Appellation. ...Eat Here Now..!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clayton-paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always one of our favorite places to eat when we're in Chico.”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Leon's Bistro is always a consistently good place to eat in Chico for so many reasons. Besides the excellent food, the wait staff is warm and efficient, Sue being especially accommodating. Chef Ann believes in cooking natural, locally grown foods, and serves tasty, beautifully presented food in a warm, friendly environment .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Exceeded our expectations !”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful experience, great food choices, excellent wine selection. An exceptional experience. Will be back again and again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Leon Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing