We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sauce is not enough”

La Hacienda Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 315 Restaurants in Chico
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Chico, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sauce is not enough”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

All around food is tasty, but "beef" anything is hamburger. Tamales were mostly dough, little inside.
But the portions are large--a"tres" item was food for "tres". Prompt and pleasant service, good margaritas.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Selva Beach
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A MUST Place to Eat in Chico, CA”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We go to Chico every year for vacation and a must on our to-do list is to eat at this restaurant. Their tostada's are amazing, their "special sauce" which is like a thousand island dressing is out of this world and worth going for on any menu item. Thanks to our niece who lived in Chico for introducing this restaurant to us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schmidtmba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I tried their fish tacos and it was very good. I'm not sure what's up with the portions, they're huge. And that means taking many boxes of food home. The Chips they bring are ok. The food will be hot, somewhat fresh, and will taste good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RyanShidyak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“After all these years, consistently good.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Over the last 40 years I have visited this establishment only 4 times. That may seem strange, but I do live in the UK ! Each time I have visited the restaurant I have been a guest of my Aunt. She has been a customer of the restaurant for over 40 years. A customer of the parents and now their children.
In my mind the food is excellent and the restaurant was my first experience of Mexican food way back.
Even though the building and furnishings have change their food hasn't, it is extremely good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerrythePotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The prices are a little high, but the food is always good, especially the special sauce. The cocktails are ok, just like most places they are to much money and not enough alcohol. Service is good, they always make sure you have chips and salsa.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ghostwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Hacienda Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Hacienda Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing