We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening out”

Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 319 Restaurants in Chico
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
california
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great evening out”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We were expecting a long wait because the parking lot was practically full when we arrived at 6:30 for dinner. We were told it would be an hour wait. It was a beautiful evening so we decided to walk down to the gift store and then to sit outside and wait. To our surprise we barely sat down outside the restaurant and we were called to come in and be seated. The service was fast and extremely friendly. The menu had a nice variety. I had the chicken sandwich. It had a flavorful guacamole topping ($12) and fries. My husband had the Mediterrain pizza. We both ate only half of our meal and were full. Everyone serving was extremely friendly, and even though extremely busy, would stop to chat and answer any questions. Definitely a place to go in Chico.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank calota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    176
    57
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pahrump, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Typical Chico Restaurant”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We live in Chico and this was our 2nd time here since they opened. They didn't impress us when they opened and certainly not on this visit either. We came ONLY because our son and his new girlfriend like coming here and insisted on it. It was extremely loud on our 1st visit and again on this visit. The food was good not great. There are better places to eat in Chico. The service was ok in light of it being extremely busy.

They STILL don't carry ANY non-alcoholic beer. I mean really Ken, you've got a great opportunity here with the aging population on meds who love to drink but can't, or shouldn't.

We waited over an hour before being seated. Our mistake was going the week the college kids came back to Chico.

There is no dress code. A large number of patrons don't seem to know what appropriate attire for going to a restaurant is. If you want to people watch, girls looking like hookers and homeless looking individuals, then this may just be the place for you to come.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CARetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, and ... great beer”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Visited the Sierra Nevada Taproom for a late Lunch last Thursday. The calamari appetizer was great, and comes with fries. Not greasy at all. We all had one of the specials for the day. I had a pizza; the crust is amazing, thin and light, but still just the right amount of chewiness. Enough for 2 to split. My wife had a roast beef sandwich. Meat was lean, and the roll was amazing. We both had a 4 beer sampler, you get 4 2oz beers for $3. My favorite was the Hefeweizen. They have many Sierra Nevada beers on tap to choose from, they don't just make Pale Ale. Both indoor and outdoor seating. We sat at a circular boot where the the seats can rotate around the table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Henneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, NV
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My daughter attends Chico State University and it seems like every time we visit we end up having dinner at Sierra Nevada. Consistently good food with a wide variety of fresh choices. I particularly enjoy the Greek Flatbread, while my daughter loves the vegi burger. The pretzel with beer cheese appetizer is delicious. The outdoor seating area can't be beat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
“Go there now!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is amazing. Take the free tour (call ahead and reserve, it's quite popular) then have dinner there at the restaurant. I am a total foodie, and this place blew us away! All local, sustainable foods and practices...every bite was unreal and fresh. Great service, atmosphere, etc. we will be planning another trip soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Nevada Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Sierra Nevada Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing