We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something is missing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bidwell House B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This will sound odd, but the coffee was dishwater. It remained so, even after the second or third pot had been brewed - by their hired cook/chef. It was so consistently poor, that I switched to tea my first morning. I so distrusted the first day's coffee that I drove out for coffee the second day - before attending breakfast. Then, once again at breakfast, just went with the tea. I felt a genuinely warm and courteous service from our servers. I can't say the same about the ownership. Yes they did smile and yes they did inquire how everything was - to which I answered "fine". Truly, it's on me then for not being forthright. The shared bathroom room rental was lacking. Room was fine, the bathroom; in serious need of a remodel. Felt more like a stay in a youth hostel in Europe, than a B&B in America. Second night, was a room with a bathroom which had been updated and remodeled. Much better. The grounds and the property are fine. These days that alone is not enough to create memories and a recommendation to others.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank ArturoPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

The rooms are clean and decorated nicely. Lots of antiques. The lawn, garden, flowers, gazebo, are relaxing. We loved to watch the resident deer venture out in the evening. The owners and staff were friendly. Breakfasts were elegant and delicious!

Helpful advice: If you are not going to use the clawfoot bathtubs then I would ask for a room with a regular shower.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Every July for the past five years, myself and 4-8 other work associates haved stayed at the Bidwell House. We're never disappointed! In fact, it just keeps getting better. Eva and Filip take pride in their B&B, and are continually making improvements to the property. The rooms are consistently clean, the grounds well manicured, and the breakfasts are delicious. A "must-stay" if you're in the Lake Almanor area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The owners, Filip and Eva, are great hosts. The property is very clean and well maintained. They have a barely detectable European accent and hire very pleasant young European people to help them with chores around the property. We thoroughly enjoyed our two day stay here and will certainly go back for a longer visit in the future.

As for the name "Bidwell House" it was built by one of the early pioneers in this area - General John Bidwell. After James Marshall discovered gold at Sutter's Mill on the American River in California, Bidwell himself discovered gold on the Feather River further contributing to the gold rush of 1849. Bidwell founded the nearby town of Chico California from his Spanish Land Grant property in the Sacramento Valley.

Bidwell married socially prominent Annie Ellicot Kennedy of Massachusetts. Deeply religious, Annie was very active in the women's suffrage and prohibition movements. John and Annie built a large home on their property near the Feather River. This home was later moved to its present location in the town of Chester and eventually became the Bidwell House Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: Prices vary based upon the room you choose. Some rooms share a bath. Others have a private bath. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggestfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Bidwell House B&B was very nice. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The owner was nice and lived next door. Breakfast were very good, served as 3-course meals with appropriate portions. Generally started with a yogurt with granola, then a main course (pancakes, omelet, etc,) then a 'desert' like cubed watermelon or a fresh pastry. The owner employed a number of younger folks using the opportunity to travel and they were all very nice. It is near the road, so some road noise, but we did not have a problem with this on the first floor in the back. There are many rooms, so some noise from room above, but not disturbing. Closest nice place to Lassen I could find and would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

So, I don't usually stay at B&B's, this was very nice as far as they go, lots of antiques, charming, felt like sleeping in Grandmas house, that is good and bad!
I would stay there again, stayed in the Bidwell Suite A, bid soaking tub, not a Jacuzzi, but nice for a soak after a long run or hike. Breakfast was awesome, lots of coffee, juice, pancakes, and fruit for desert. Best B&B breakfast I have had.

only drawback is, like all B&B, thin walls and squeaky floors, but that is what you would expect. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Bidwell Suite A, has the soaking tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a really nice room with a Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. The Ceiling fan and the cooling of the evening made for pleasant temperatures by bedtime.

Two well prepared breakfasts set us up for a day of hiking in the fantastic Lassen National Park.

The living room area and the enclosed porch are suitable for group conversation, as is the patio behind. (There was an Art Sale going on in the garden area while we were there, so that area was not available for lounging.)

The employee staff were most kind and gentile.

The couple who own the Bidwell house also have a nearby restaurant (15 Minute drive), which is quite satisfactory. They are clearly quite efficient and experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bidwell House B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bidwell House B&B Inn

Address: #1 Main St., Chester, CA 96020
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $85 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Old Towne" Chester, The Bidwell House B&B Inn is the only three-diamond AAA rated Inn in the Chester/Lake Almanor basin. Fourteen distinctly different guest rooms, the swing on the porch, the unusual collection of antiques and attention to little details are all for the comfort of our guest. Chester/Lake Almanor basin and surrounding area spread across a natural wonderland created by millions of years of geologic forces, a crossroad where the granite of the Sierra Nevada meets the lava of the Cascades. Enjoy hours of pleasure on Lake Almanor with its 52 miles of shoreline, in Lassen Volcanic National Park which boasts the southernmost volcano in the Cascade range and in the 1.2 million acres that make up the Lassen National Forest and Caribou Wilderness area. This is a playground for all seasons, for all ages and any lifestyle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing