We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay near Lassen Volcanic NP” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bidwell House B&B Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bidwell House B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice stay near Lassen Volcanic NP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Bidwell House B&B was very nice. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The owner was nice and lived next door. Breakfast were very good, served as 3-course meals with appropriate portions. Generally started with a yogurt with granola, then a main course (pancakes, omelet, etc,) then a 'desert' like cubed watermelon or a fresh pastry. The owner employed a number of younger folks using the opportunity to travel and they were all very nice. It is near the road, so some road noise, but we did not have a problem with this on the first floor in the back. There are many rooms, so some noise from room above, but not disturbing. Closest nice place to Lassen I could find and would gladly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    37
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
99
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

So, I don't usually stay at B&B's, this was very nice as far as they go, lots of antiques, charming, felt like sleeping in Grandmas house, that is good and bad!
I would stay there again, stayed in the Bidwell Suite A, bid soaking tub, not a Jacuzzi, but nice for a soak after a long run or hike. Breakfast was awesome, lots of coffee, juice, pancakes, and fruit for desert. Best B&B breakfast I have had.

only drawback is, like all B&B, thin walls and squeaky floors, but that is what you would expect. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Bidwell Suite A, has the soaking tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a really nice room with a Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. The Ceiling fan and the cooling of the evening made for pleasant temperatures by bedtime.

Two well prepared breakfasts set us up for a day of hiking in the fantastic Lassen National Park.

The living room area and the enclosed porch are suitable for group conversation, as is the patio behind. (There was an Art Sale going on in the garden area while we were there, so that area was not available for lounging.)

The employee staff were most kind and gentile.

The couple who own the Bidwell house also have a nearby restaurant (15 Minute drive), which is quite satisfactory. They are clearly quite efficient and experienced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This years holiday was spent touring Northern California, leaving San Rafael Behind we headed up north in our hired Dodge Caravan, a roomy 7 seater with plenty of space for luggage. It was a beautiful drive once you cleared the US 101 North, it wasn't long before we were in the middle of panoramic views as we travelled towards our accommadation for two nights in the quiet town of Chester,
We had selected the Bidwell House B&B firstly because of its location, its availability, its comfort feastures and its history as a period property. We were a family of five and its not always easy to find suitable accommadation when your are on a driving holiday, The Bidwell had a small cottage on its ground and this was our home for two nights. the cottage was beautifully styled with lots of old world charm matched with modern convenience, One of my daughters loved the pull out bed which was framed in a wooden case sitting below another bed, the couch converted out to a double bed and the adults had the convenience of a small bedroom.
The breakfast which was included can only be described as being of gormet standards, too often american breakfasts are pilled high with food for two, this was well presented and sufficient to start the day.
The beauty of Chester is its proximity to Lassen Volcanic Park, a trip well worth taking, visiting the sulphur springs and the Mud pots, enjoying a two hour gentle hike, We departed Chester and the Bidweel B&B with good memories as we travelled along on our trip to Mt Shasta.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only a few rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheyuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed 5 nights, to visit and hike Lassen Volcanic National Park, and enjoyed being able to return to the comfort of the Bidwell House each night. Very good breakfasts, very helpful guidance on dinner restaurants. Rooms very clean and well-appointed, and lobby sitting areas very comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This B&B sits on the edge of town on beautiful park like grounds. The main house is charming & nicely decorated. The breakfasts are very good- served by the lively young ladies visiting from Europe. I would have given this Inn 5 stars, but the back addition where our room was located is more like a motel. The room was clean, but had no air conditioning, & was plain & dated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfaye26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We came to Bidwell House on the recommendation of the guide book and were really delighted with the choice. The owners were friendly and helpful, the rooms delightful, if a little warm, with no air conditioning. Breakfast was served in the dining room and was freshly cooked for each of us. Pleased that we upgraded to the larger rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rose Quartz Inn
Show Prices

Been to The Bidwell House B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bidwell House B&B Inn

Property: The Bidwell House B&B Inn
Address: #1 Main St., Chester, CA 96020
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Old Towne" Chester, The Bidwell House B&B Inn is the only three-diamond AAA rated Inn in the Chester/Lake Almanor basin. Fourteen distinctly different guest rooms, the swing on the porch, the unusual collection of antiques and attention to little details are all for the comfort of our guest. Chester/Lake Almanor basin and surrounding area spread across a natural wonderland created by millions of years of geologic forces, a crossroad where the granite of the Sierra Nevada meets the lava of the Cascades. Enjoy hours of pleasure on Lake Almanor with its 52 miles of shoreline, in Lassen Volcanic National Park which boasts the southernmost volcano in the Cascade range and in the 1.2 million acres that make up the Lassen National Forest and Caribou Wilderness area. This is a playground for all seasons, for all ages and any lifestyle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing