We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bidwell House B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Chester B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2012

So, I don't usually stay at B&B's, this was very nice as far as they go, lots of antiques, charming, felt like sleeping in Grandmas house, that is good and bad!
I would stay there again, stayed in the Bidwell Suite A, bid soaking tub, not a Jacuzzi, but nice for a soak after a long run or hike. Breakfast was awesome, lots of coffee, juice, pancakes, and fruit for desert. Best B&B breakfast I have had.

only drawback is, like all B&B, thin walls and squeaky floors, but that is what you would expect. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Bidwell Suite A, has the soaking tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 148 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We had a really nice room with a Jacuzzi tub and a separate shower. The Ceiling fan and the cooling of the evening made for pleasant temperatures by bedtime.

Two well prepared breakfasts set us up for a day of hiking in the fantastic Lassen National Park.

The living room area and the enclosed porch are suitable for group conversation, as is the patio behind. (There was an Art Sale going on in the garden area while we were there, so that area was not available for lounging.)

The employee staff were most kind and gentile.

The couple who own the Bidwell house also have a nearby restaurant (15 Minute drive), which is quite satisfactory. They are clearly quite efficient and experienced.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This years holiday was spent touring Northern California, leaving San Rafael Behind we headed up north in our hired Dodge Caravan, a roomy 7 seater with plenty of space for luggage. It was a beautiful drive once you cleared the US 101 North, it wasn't long before we were in the middle of panoramic views as we travelled towards our accommadation for two nights in the quiet town of Chester,
We had selected the Bidwell House B&B firstly because of its location, its availability, its comfort feastures and its history as a period property. We were a family of five and its not always easy to find suitable accommadation when your are on a driving holiday, The Bidwell had a small cottage on its ground and this was our home for two nights. the cottage was beautifully styled with lots of old world charm matched with modern convenience, One of my daughters loved the pull out bed which was framed in a wooden case sitting below another bed, the couch converted out to a double bed and the adults had the convenience of a small bedroom.
The breakfast which was included can only be described as being of gormet standards, too often american breakfasts are pilled high with food for two, this was well presented and sufficient to start the day.
The beauty of Chester is its proximity to Lassen Volcanic Park, a trip well worth taking, visiting the sulphur springs and the Mud pots, enjoying a two hour gentle hike, We departed Chester and the Bidweel B&B with good memories as we travelled along on our trip to Mt Shasta.

Room Tip: Book early as there are only a few rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheyuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed 5 nights, to visit and hike Lassen Volcanic National Park, and enjoyed being able to return to the comfort of the Bidwell House each night. Very good breakfasts, very helpful guidance on dinner restaurants. Rooms very clean and well-appointed, and lobby sitting areas very comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This B&B sits on the edge of town on beautiful park like grounds. The main house is charming & nicely decorated. The breakfasts are very good- served by the lively young ladies visiting from Europe. I would have given this Inn 5 stars, but the back addition where our room was located is more like a motel. The room was clean, but had no air conditioning, & was plain & dated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfaye26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We came to Bidwell House on the recommendation of the guide book and were really delighted with the choice. The owners were friendly and helpful, the rooms delightful, if a little warm, with no air conditioning. Breakfast was served in the dining room and was freshly cooked for each of us. Pleased that we upgraded to the larger rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This B&B located in Chester, CA is perfect for relaxing & sightseeing in the area. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in late April and loved it. We reserved the cottage which was comfortable and roomy for the 2 of us - could use some updating but was very nice and the beds were comfortable. The staff at Bidwell House is very friendly and warm. We were treated like family. The breakfasts are delicious. The staff has lots of information about what to do, where to go, how to get there, hours of operation - everything. If you need to know and they don't have the answer they will find out for you. The sherry in the afternoon by the big fireplace in the main house was charming. We loved just hanging out in the sun room sifting through emails on the internet. The location is quiet, the property and rooms super clean, well cared for and the staff is the best.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bidwell House B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bidwell House B&B Inn

Address: #1 Main St., Chester, CA 96020
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Price Range: $85 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the "Old Towne" Chester, The Bidwell House B&B Inn is the only three-diamond AAA rated Inn in the Chester/Lake Almanor basin. Fourteen distinctly different guest rooms, the swing on the porch, the unusual collection of antiques and attention to little details are all for the comfort of our guest. Chester/Lake Almanor basin and surrounding area spread across a natural wonderland created by millions of years of geologic forces, a crossroad where the granite of the Sierra Nevada meets the lava of the Cascades. Enjoy hours of pleasure on Lake Almanor with its 52 miles of shoreline, in Lassen Volcanic National Park which boasts the southernmost volcano in the Cascade range and in the 1.2 million acres that make up the Lassen National Forest and Caribou Wilderness area. This is a playground for all seasons, for all ages and any lifestyle. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing