We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese in Chester”

Happy Garden Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 20 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Chinese in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We ate dinner at the Happy Garden Restaurant and had the dinner for two and it was excellent as well as the service,great find.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank frau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Came here for dinner and the food was really good. We ordered the orange chicken, Honey walnut shrimp and house special chow mein.

The orange chicken was really good because of the huge chunk of chicken meat that they give you and the flavor of the sauce that it comes with. There are also slivers of orange part of the dish so it adds presentation to the dish. The Honey Walnut shrimp was good as well. Not much to say about this particular dish since it tastes similar to other chinese restaurants. Lastly the Chow Mein was good despite it being really salty. The noodles was really crispy and went really well with the sauce. Since the noodles came with shrimp, pork and vegetables it was a great mixture and tasted well together.

The service here was also great because they offered you free rainbow sherbert at the end of your meal. On top of that, you still get the traditional fortune cookie still. Definitely will go here again when in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding Family Run Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

With rather limited choices for dining in Chester, we did not have high expectations, especially for Chinese food. Previous reviews on TA were good and the Happy Garden had more cars in the front than any other restaurant so we gave it a chance. What a great decision! The couple and their kids running this place were doing such a fantastic job. Great prices, super fresh food, good service and large portions left us wishing we could come back again. If you enjoy Chinese food cooked fresh and you are in Chester, consider checking out the Happy Garden. The Saturday night we were there (Memorial Day weekend), they were quite busy, but every family member chipped in to make sure we got served and enjoyed our meal. The price for their special meal was about $10 each and that included sherbet for dessert. It totally surprised us to find this quality in Chester and the icing on the cake was the joy in seeing a family work together so efficiently to serve their guests.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hokiedad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
310 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, gracious family, wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This delightful family restaurant serves some of the best Chinese food we've ever tasted. Everything is very fresh, prepared perfectly and served in a warm, friendly manner. There are so many excellent menu choices that we selected several different entrees and shared plates among us. Loved the Happy Garden Special and the vegetarian choices were a hit too. The mongolian chicken was outstanding.....hot, spicy and soooooo good! Highly suggest that you make the drive to Chester, CA to enjoy a wonderful meal at the Happy Garden.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good and affordable restaurant in Chester CA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was very impressed with Happy Garden. In a small town in the mountains I did not expect something good but I was proven wrong with this restaurant and I must admit that it is one of the best Chinese Restaurant I had visited. The service was very good, fast and efficient. The presentation was innovative (we ordered Happy Garden Special), and the menu was good both with variety and price. They surpassed everything that I expected. I will definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunToTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Garden Restaurant also viewed

Chester, Plumas County
Chester, Plumas County
 
Chester, Plumas County
Chester, Plumas County
 
Chester, Plumas County
 

Been to Happy Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing