We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a night or two”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Lodge Motel & RV Park
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chester
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice for a night or two”
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Good value for a clean spacious room. Lassen Volcanic park a bit of a drive. Motel is within a mile or two of a variety of dining choices.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
23
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wooster, ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2010

This was a great and relatively inexpensive place to stay. The reasons we liked Cedar Lodge are as follows: 1) the staff is very friendly (but not overly); 2) the beds are really comfortable for the price (firm mattresses an important plus after a full day traveling and/or in great outdoors); 3) the location is great - awesome coffee shop/bakery right next door, very close to Lassen National Park, great Mtn biking, hiking (which is what we like to do, but apparently great for winter sports, hunting, boating and fishing); 4) free DVD rental on site); 5) well maintained and clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CateF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2010

First of all, please disregard the comment left by DDJB and the title "YOU CAN'T BE SERIOUS" He or she is a complete idiot or pampered little princess who can't handle anything less than a 4 star. The accommodations for what you can expect for a motel given how hard it was to find one in Chester on a weekend was outstanding!! Kudos to AL! He's the man! Everything you want to know about the area and and how to catch the lunkers, he's as straight up as they get! Agreed! Katherine too is as helpful as a hostess can get! OH! I can't forget to mention! "If you own an ATV, you best bring it here (there is a cool little course and trails galore, just ask AL)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We spent 2 nights here. The walls between rooms are better sound-proofed than most other motels. Once in a while we could hear people talking in an adjacent room, but it was quite muffled. Decorations were homey and unique. Both staff members we dealt with were genuinely helpful, friendly, and kind. Absolutely would (and will) stay here again. All rooms were non-smoking. Our room had a mini-fridge and microwave. The wifi worked well the times we tried it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigersFan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

When we come to this area to hike or ski we always stay here. The rooms are very comfortable and the owners are very hospitable and really made us feel at home. the last time we stayed they had a bonfire in the back that the patrons were welcome to sit around. We thought it was awesome to sit by the campfire and at the end of the night be able to go back to a very clean and cozy room to watch one of the many DVD's that the office has available. The dogs love staying here to!! When we come in the winter we can literally walk across the street and go cross country skiing. a great place to stay and we would reccommend it anyone planning to stay in this area, pam sadie and patches will be back!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clavin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Very friendly and up front staff who work to make you comfortable. The motel is to the west a few hundred feet of the intersection of CA 89 and CA 36 which makes is very convenient for getting to all the recreation sites around Lake Almanor and about 20 miles from Mt. Lassen Park.....like many of the "mom and pop" motels in the area there is an attached RV camp site but this operation is cleaner and friendlier than all the others I have stayed in. Most of the guests seem to be early risers since at the crack of dawn they want to get out of doors and enjoy the country. There is a friendly Bakery next door but it doesn't open until 7:30 so you have to go to town (Chester-3 miles) for breakfast. The Kopper Kettle opens at 5am and serves great food.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We were visiting Lassen. Cedar Lodge is convenient and Chester is a great little town. In addition to going to Lassen's main southwest entrance you can enter right in Chester just a few minutes from Cedar Lodge. Great hiking, swimming, and gorgeous! Owners could not be nicer, friendlier or more helpful. It's not luxurious by any means but very pleasant and perfectly clean.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Lodge Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Motel & RV Park

Property: Cedar Lodge Motel & RV Park
Address: 1487 County Road 324, Junctions Highway 36 & Highway 89, Chester, CA 96020
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1.5 miles west of Chester in a wooded setting, our lodge offers a variety of accommodations including Queen, King, Kitchen, & 2-bdrm units. In addition to kitchenettes, our rooms also have a fridge, microwave, in-room coffee, TV/DVDs, DVD lending library, and free WiFi. Property amenities also include BBQs, picnic & play areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge Motel & Rv Park Hotel Chester
Cedar Lodge Motel And Rv Park
Cedar Hotel Chester
Cedar Motel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing