We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for families!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drakesbad Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2006

My two sons and I stayed at Drakesbad Ranch a couple years ago. It was rustic, but clean and great fun! We hiked to a boiling mud lake, canoed in a pristine pond, went on a horseback ride, swam in the hot spring swimming pool while we watched deer and other animals roaming around the ranch! There were no t.v.'s, radio's or lights in the rooms. We used kerosene lanterns and flashlights! It was great to really just spend time together as a family! I really liked that this was all inclusive! The meals were included and the food was gourmet! I loved the food! Very fresh and flavorful! The staff were wonderful! Lots of different nationalities and very friendly! They even had s'mores for the kids by the BBQ and stories by the fire too! This was one of our more memorable vacations! I would love to go back and take my husband this time! He was unable to go with us last time. Oh, and Lassen is such a cool place to see! It was July and about 98 degrees and they still had a pile of snow and we had a snowball fight! I would definately recommend Drakesbad! I heard about it in the Family Fun magazine originally!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Calimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 95 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank marie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kona2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pimponicaille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollie P, Public Relations Manager at Drakesbad Guest Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drakesbad Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakesbad Guest Ranch

Address: end of Warner Valley Road, Chester, CA 96020
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range: $70 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1916 Congress established Lassen Volcanic National Park as the fifteenth national park in the United States. Privately held Drakesbad bordered the park in the southeast corner. The Sifford family continued to run their beloved Guest Ranch as good neighbors of the Park Service each summer for forty-two years. To preserve the Ranch and guarantee continued quality service for generations to come, Drakesbad was sold to the US government in 1958 for inclusion in to Lassen Volcanic National Park. Since that sale there have been three park concessionaires: for the past 36 years Drakesbad has been run by California Guest Services where the emphasis is still on outstanding customer service! All rates include three meals per day and lodging! All accommodations are rustic and quaint, most without electricity. The use of kerosene lamps is a welcome respite from the modern world and adds a distinct and old time ranch feel to your stay. All rooms include a full or half bath and are gas heated. Housekeeping services are provided daily. As a member of the Green Hotels Network, we make every effort to reduce, reuse, and recycle at Drakesbad. General Information Drakesbad Guest Ranch is open (pending weather conditions) June through mid October. The Ranch is closed mid October through to May. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drakesbad Guest Ranch Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing