We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drakesbad 2014”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drakesbad Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Drakesbad 2014”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed at Drakesbad two nights (June 6 and 7). New host Errol was very helpful and the staff bent over backwards to make things go correctly for the opening weekend. Awesome relaxing experience although we had camped at the nearby Warner Valley Campground three times and knew the area. Made it to Drake's Lake, Devil's Kitchen, and Boiling Springs Lake, so no problems for two 68 year olds.
Food was great, Pool good, and the Lodge not bad to stay in. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hpgdiver, Public Relations Manager at Drakesbad Guest Ranch, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear mrohs, thank you so much for writing a FIVE STAR review on your stay at Drakesbad. We are delighted that your visit was wonderful and that you mentioned you will be back! We are holding you to it. :) Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Best Regards, Hollie Potts Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    24
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Drakesbad is an awesome place to escape. There's great hiking nearby (Devil's Kitchen was fun), you get no cell phone signal and the room we stayed in had no electricity -- only kerosene lamps!

This results in some of the most restful sleep you will likely ever have! Of course you can't forget the natural spring fed outdoor pool, which is great to aid relaxation after your hikes or horseback riding.

Food was top notch as well. I read some of the reviews before going that seemed to knock the dining, but any concerns were put aside when I sat down to dinner that first night.

It's a little bit of a drive to get down to Lake Almanor, but this is a good thing for the seclusion of of it all. In town you can pick up beverages or snacks and participate in water sports on the lake.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Really enjoyable stay! Great location with access to Devil's kitchen (way more awesome than Bumpass Hell, I thought). Great hospitality and all meals provided. Very nice hot pool. Only negatives were the bed stuck in the corner of the room felt claustrophobic. Outdoor showers were OK. The happy hours were great for meeting other guests and they have a fire pit and a room full of games in the lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Since there have been only a few reviews for the past 2 years in which Drakesbad has been under new management, I decided it was time for me to chime in. We have gone to Drakesbad both in 2012 and 2013, in late September/early October for both years. We stayed in the lodge, ate at the dining hall, soaked in the pool, rode the horses, and hiked on the trails.

THESE TWO YEARS HAVE BEEN OUR BEST VACATIONS EVER! I yell that, not only because we were totally out of cell phone/internet range and felt the joy of that, but because this place has everything we require in a vacation - clean rooms, superb management, good food, good companionship, peace and quiet, and easy access to the wonders of nature.

The hosts, Pat and Valerie, are accommodating and ever-present. They are very interesting people, too. The staff is always personable and eager to please. The chef is creative and accomplished. The food is amazing and plentiful. The hot springs pool is relaxing, well-tended and exactly what you would expect. The rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable. The lodge had a fire each evening, and during the days when it was a bit chilly. I have no complaints.

Now to the specifics of this year's trip. It was an "Occupy Drakesbad" mood when it was announced that the government was shutting down, and that we would all likely have to leave. We were finally told that we had to be out by Thursday morning. NO ONE wanted to leave - not the guests, not the staff. You would think the management and staff would get pretty depressed by this news - they were getting laid off early, after all. BUT NO! They did everything to make our stay as delightful as ever! We even had a "party" of sorts in which the staff and remaining guests all dined together on the final night (Wednesday) (with consent of all the guests first, of course). We made some memories that we are never going to forget. Delicious food, interesting people...GHOST STORIES!!!

We have already made our reservations for next year. See you there!!

Room Tip: The lodge rooms have the only full-time electricity. If you need light in the night, there are kero...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda13148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The saying goes that the end of the journey matters but the journey matters in the end. To us humans travelling through life this end to a journey is pure tranquillity and even if approached via Mount Lassen Volcanic park is still better than the journey. Fantastic staff, food and other guests let alone the stunning scenery and things to do.

Room Tip: Allow plenty of time from Chester.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you are looking for peace, quiet and a beautiful setting, this is the place to be.
Food, lodging, staff...fabulous...No cell phone, No TV, No internet, No electricity. This is really getting away from "it all". Hiking is wonderful. Hot pool after a long day...mmmmmmm
If you embrace this place, you go back to your world truly refreshed. We are going again & again.

Room Tip: The bungalow duplexes are the best. quiet, comfortable. Plan to go to bed early or bring a headlam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynneee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed in bungalow 2 for 3 nights in September, 2013. My room was very dusty. The heater looked like it hadn't been dusted in months. The water pressure in the bathroom was low, and there was a hole in my bedspread. The positives about Drakesbad are its location (inside Lassen National Park), the food (all good meals included in the bungalow price), and the staff (very friendly and helpful).

Room Tip: Be sure to check to see if your room has electricity and/or a shower before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliPalosVerdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drakesbad Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakesbad Guest Ranch

Property: Drakesbad Guest Ranch
Address: end of Warner Valley Road, Chester, CA 96020
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1916 Congress established Lassen Volcanic National Park as the fifteenth national park in the United States. Privately held Drakesbad bordered the park in the southeast corner. The Sifford family continued to run their beloved Guest Ranch as good neighbors of the Park Service each summer for forty-two years. To preserve the Ranch and guarantee continued quality service for generations to come, Drakesbad was sold to the US government in 1958 for inclusion in to Lassen Volcanic National Park. Since that sale there have been three park concessionaires: for the past 36 years Drakesbad has been run by California Guest Services where the emphasis is still on outstanding customer service! All rates include three meals per day and lodging! All accommodations are rustic and quaint, most without electricity. The use of kerosene lamps is a welcome respite from the modern world and adds a distinct and old time ranch feel to your stay. All rooms include a full or half bath and are gas heated. Housekeeping services are provided daily. As a member of the Green Hotels Network, we make every effort to reduce, reuse, and recycle at Drakesbad. General Information Drakesbad Guest Ranch is open (pending weather conditions) June through mid October. The Ranch is closed mid October through to May. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drakesbad Guest Ranch Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing