We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Shore Campground
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I have stayed here three times now. Last time we where here, we drove around the entire lake to see if we could find a cheaper place, but none of the other parks where even half as nice as this site. The pro's here are 1. It is right against the water so you don't have to go anywhere at all. 2. They are 5 minutes from Chester, a very charming little town with a soda shope and cute little supermarket. 3. The beach is kid friendly. 4. they have good sized rv sites. 5. They allow campfires and provide a fire ring. 6. They have a noise curfew of 10pm which is very reasonable. The con's here are 1. They don't have sewer hookups (but they pump twice a week in the mornings and a pump station on your way in or out. 2. TV reception is really bad. All in all it is a really nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience along with your likes and dislikes with us! We pride ourselves on the beautiful campgrounds and RV sites that we have here at the North Shore Campground. Our location is one of the best features of our camp sites, we’re so glad that you were able to enjoy your time here on the lake with your kids! Providing a safe, family-friendly environment is really important to us. As the new owners of the North Shore Campground we are working hard to provide you with the best available amenities. We apologize for the inconvenience of not having sewer hookups, but are more than happy to continuing offering pump services and full use of our pump station for your convenience. Come stop by the new and improved North Shore Campground, we can’t wait to show off many of our new features including our 16 new state-of-the-art boat docks. If you loved us before, you’ll love us even more now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 35 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family and I stayed here for 8 nights for our vacation this year. It was the first time we had camped that long and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Pluses: right on the lake, quiet, excellent staff, clean facilities, laundry and library

Minuses: Campsites are very small (we had a pop-up camper and were dwarfed and squeezed by the monster trailers); no dumping (they will collect for you for a fee); no beach for swimming

This was one of our very best family vacations and we look forward to returning next year. The fishing is excellent and we love the proximity to Chester and all the lake activities.

Room Tip: Either on the lake, or up on the hill, to have the most room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sallyern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us! We are so glad that you enjoyed over a mile of our shoreline along with our clean facilities, laundry, library and staff! Our campgrounds are meant to be peaceful and relaxing and we’re so glad that you were able to have that feeling. Our apologies for the room in regards to the small camp site – we would be more than happy to accommodate you with a larger RV site the next time you come to our campgrounds, please make sure to email me directly at info@northshorecampground.com and we will make sure that you have plenty of room. With over 80 RV sites we will find one that is roomy enough for your pop-up trailer! While the North Shore Campground might not necessarily have any beaches, we have plenty of swimming spots available at our beautiful lake. Next time you come up, make sure to ask us about it and we will point you in the direction of great swimming spots. As new owners of the campground, we are so excited to meet our previous customers. We can’t wait to meet you! If you loved us before, you’ll love us even more now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I have been camping and boating for over 30 years, and this campground was terrible. They did not inform me ahead of time that the boat launch was not made for a 33 foot rv towing a boat. The staff could have told me that their boat launch was much too small for my vehicle when I made the reservation to begin with. People were having problems with a car launching the boat let alone a large rv. The biggest joke, is that they have a large launch at the front of the campground, but they seem to be concerned about how crowded it can get with incoming traffic through the front gate. I rented a boat slip, and that was another story. The slip was much too short for my 19 foot boat, so it was difficult to tie the boat properly. The slip was torn up along the edges with the top of a screw penetrating out of the wood. We left for the day, and while we were out, the winds were so strong our boat broke loose from the ties and was smashed up against the sides of the slip with the screw pounding and destroying the outside of my boat hull. This was my first time camping here, and I would think that if you have a boat, they would worn you of these extreme winds. The only thing they told me was that I need to learn how to tie a boat properly and I am lucky that they dont come after me for the fact that my boat damaged their already destroyed boat slip. ( GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE! ) The winds were so strong they snapped the ropes in two. The owner is a British women who has a real attitude and should not run a campsite. They would drive around to monitor what you are doing at all times. You were always being watched and called on anything they didn't approve of such as riding a scooter or bikes. There is a 10 mph rule in the park, and she chased me and my son down to let us know that we could not ride our electric scooter because here insurance did not cover it. The rules show you can use a scooter as long as you abide by the 10 mph rule, but she said it was a grey area and we could not ride them. They only have one bathroom/shower building so if you are not close to it, you will have to use one of the many out houses placed around the camp site. ( very ugly to look at and smelly ) I should have known that they were a weird bunch to deal with when I was making the reservation. I was asking some questions about the campground on the phone, and she was getting an attitude like I was wasting here time. She actually said " my so many questions" and couldn't get off the phone fast enough. They also lied and said there was only one other campground around the lake. This is not the cae, there are numerous campgrounds around and I would advise you to check them out because they are much nicer than this one and without the attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kardevaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your honest opinion with your experience! As new owners of the North Shore Campground we are devastated that this was your experience at our campground. We had a lot of the same concerns in regards to boating issues and you will be happy to hear that as new owners we have added 16 new, state of the art docks and replaced the log boom! We’ve also made it a point to make customers aware of the launch room available to them as we do not want anyone else to have the same experience that you did in regards to your boat. Please feel free to email us directly at info@northshorecampground.com we would be more than happy to try and make right by you! As new owners, we will always take responsibility and apologize that previous owners shifted the blame to you. We have spent over 20 years in the great outdoors and you will be happy to hear that we as long as you abide by our 10 mph rule, we will always be happy to have our campers enjoying our campgrounds – that’s what they’re here for after all. Feel free to ask us all the questions you would like, especially in regards to your RV or Camp site and the amenities. We would be more than happy to help you with any questions, comments or concerns you might have. Thank you again for sharing your opinion with us. We hope that you will consider sending us an email and letting us rectify the situation, we would love for you to check out the campground under new ownership.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

sad:'( the campsite we go to every yr for labor day has made a terrible mistake! after we left last yr, someone dumped a bunch of crap (car parts & chemicals) into our fire pit. now they think we did it & won't allow us to come back. the manager wouldn't listen to anything i had to say to the contrary. so sad:'(

Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank dmerrymccuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us. We are so sorry that you had this experience with the previous manager. As new owners of the North Shore Campground we would love to welcome you back to the campground and prove the previous owners wrong! Please feel free to reach out to us personally at info@northshorecampground.com so we can rectify the situation. When our customers tell us what happened, unless facts prove otherwise, we will always believe them. That being said, we would love to see you back at our camp grounds and RV site. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to change your opinion of our campground.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

My wife, son, and I went tent camping and found the resort to be very nice and exceptionally quiet. The restrooms and showers are exceptionally clean for a campground. The staff is extremely helpful and ready to assist. It is on the north shore of Lake Almanor and with all the water being removed from the lake, we had to walk a little ways to the water and the water was shallow for quite a ways. This could be great if you have small children. (We drove by the west shore of Lake Almanor and the water was right up to the shore). My only complaint is the campsites were a little close together. Also, it is the most expensive tent camping I've seen in California. The RV sites with full water and electrical hookups were $37/night and tent sites with just water were $34/night? Just $3 difference didn't make sense to me. Overall, we had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank varyingtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and opinions with us. We are so glad that you were able to visit our campground and RV site and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere. North Shore Campground prides itself on our clean restrooms and showers, so we’re happy that you noticed! With over 80 RV sites and 70 camp sites it’s easy to see understand how one might feel the sites are a little close together – we apologize if that’s how it felt. Feel free to email us directly at info@northshorecampground.com the next time you plan a visit, and we will be happy to make sure you are on a tent or RV site that has plenty of room. As new owners of the campground, we look forward to meet your entire family and hope that you will think of us the next time it’s time to plan a family vacation! Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

This was our first family camping trip (in a tent) ...two adults, one child & one very large golden retriever. It was wonderful. It was quiet and clean just like they promised in the website. The campsite has spaces for tents but the RVs were practically everywhere. Still, our area was mainly tents and it was perfect, not to mention very quiet. The lake is huge and very BEAUTIFUL. The water was clear and not too cold. The best part were the two bald eagles that flew over us several times a day during our short 3 day, 2 night stay. The staff frequently drive through to check that all is well, so we felt safe. The town of Chester is marvelous - plan to spend some time there either before of after. We can't wait to go again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank campplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion with us. We are so glad that you guys were able to have such a great experience at one of our camp sites. North Shore Campground prides itself in providing a serene and relaxing place for family and friends to come visit, it’s so nice to hear that you were able to do this. It is not uncommon to see bald eagles at our Campgrounds and RV Sites – but not everyone has the eye to spot them like you guys did. Nothing beats discovering the quaint charms of a small town like Chester, we’re glad you enjoyed the time you spent here. As new owners of the North Shore Campground & RV Park we’re happy that you have enjoyed your past visits and look forward to having you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We took our 37' class A with 2 other couples, 32' fifth wheel and a 25' travel trailer. The staff went out of their way to put us all together, loved the place. Right on the lake, nice private beach, super clean bathrooms, showers, had NO problem with the staff. All I can say is we booked it again for this summer, great fishing, the town of Chester is a GEM. If your looking for a super fancy, hi-end campgroud don't bother,. If your lookinfg for a place to have a GREAT time, check it out.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Xlerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore C, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your opinion and experience with us. We’re so glad that you loved our staff, location and amenities. We pride ourselves in working hard to keep our campground in great conditions. Chester is a great town to explore before or after all of the other great outdoor activities like fishing, hunting, boating, hiking etc. We hope that you continue to make our campground a part of your regular summer ritual. North Shore Campground looks forward to making many new memories with you on our property. Thanks for your continued business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Shore Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Campground

Address: Highway 36, North Shore of Lake Almanor, Chester, CA 96020
Location: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new and improved North Shore Campground, an RV park and campground that is under new ownership! As the new owners, we have worked hard to create a family-friendly environment that is inviting, fun and safe. We welcome you into our home and our campgrounds, it is our pleasure to share this experience with you and create a memorable experience for you and your family during your visit to Northern California. If there’s anything we can do to make this a one-of-a-kind experience for you, please don’t hesitate to talk to us before, during or even after your trip! We want to make everyone feel like they’re at home when they visit North Shore Campgrounds.With over one mile of shoreline on Lake Almanor, North Shore Campgrounds has everything you could imagine and more. Our peaceful and relaxing resort has over one mile of shoreline available with plenty of fun activities ready for your visit. We have worked hard to create a welcoming environment to new and old guests. The park has been carefully designed to complement the natural beauty of these beautiful and serene settings.Clean and modern bathrooms, boat docks and ramp, boat rentals, playground, a high speed Internet access point, and a WiFi hot spot are some of our amenities. We also have guest houses available for rent that offer all the modern conveniences. In addition, you may rent our Coleman popup trailer rental. We are the only private resort on the lake that offers tent and RV sites, as well as cabins. This makes us an excellent choice for your next family reunion, camping trip or any excuse to get away! We are located on the North Shore of Lake Almanor, two miles east of Chester, California, just off Highway 36.Come fish, boat, walk along the shoreline, hunt for crawdads, watch the many species of waterfowl, or just relax and watch the water. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat in a truly spectacular location, visit us at North Shore Campground. Stop by and grab a cup of coffee with us during the morning, we love getting to know our new family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing