We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay in the countryside”
other travelers have booked this property
Tucked deep in the heart of the old apple orchard, the cottage is surrounded by nature at its best.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tucked deep in the heart of the old apple orchard, the cottage is surrounded by nature at its best.
Through the gate to your oasis of calm and tranquility, a short walk from the car parking.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Tucked deep in the heart of the old apple orchard, the cottage is surrounded by nature at its best.
Through the gate to your oasis of calm and tranquility, a short walk from the car parking.
Peaceful south-facing patio from French doors, perfect for relaxing on blissful sun loungers.
The scent of flowers and the sight of birds, bees and butterflies surround your own private patio.
A tranquil haven of peace - relax in the company of birds and bees as they flit among the foliage.
Hanging baskets bring their vibrant seasonal colours to  attract an array of bees and butterflies.
Light floods in from the French doors to a view over the patio and the visiting wildlife beyond
Settle back in front of the lovely woodburner for warm, cosy, romantic evenings at home.
Beautiful wildflowers from the gardens add a special welcome to your idyllic Norfolk cottage.
A very cosy and peaceful place to relax and reflect at the end of a perfect day.
Grab the binoculars to see wildlife in our old apple orchard. Catch the sun rising from the east.
Fully stocked kitchen. Large freezer, washing machine and dryer in dedicated laundry room close by.
Intimate dining for two from your easy-to-reach well-stocked kitchen.
Awake to the dappled rays of the morning sun shining through the trees in the ancient apple orchard.
Master bedroom, blissfully capturing the comfortable, tasteful and elegant style of times past.
Family bathroom including all towels and luxury toiletries.
Ancient apple trees  surround the cottage  leading to the summerhouse and  wildflower meadow.
A cascade of apple blossom adorns the old apple trees in our two orchards
Summerhouse nestles in the wildflower meadow, a haven to enjoy a glass of wine as the sun goes down.
The summerhouse overlooking the wildflower meadow. Spot the deer,  rabbits, and pheasant pass by.
An autumn beauty, a Red Admiral on the ivy.
Autumn sun warms a ladybird on our Bramley apples in the orchards.
Capture the stunning damsel fly with your camera as it rests in the reeds along the riverbanks.
Discover the magnificent Broads National Park close by, nature's wonderland - so much to enjoy.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wheldon17...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay in the countryside”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Were welcomed by Penny and Roger at this lovely cottage. Enjoyed our week's stay and wish we could have stayed longer. The cottage was ideal for the three of us. It was lovely to come back to in the evening, and we were able to sit outside late into the evening. Due to so little light pollution here, we were able to watch the meteor showers.
We are looking forward to going back to this cottage next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverbird...
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb,clean,quiet,just the job for peace and tranquillity beautiful heaven for q week.”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I had a wonderful week. The cottage was cute and very clean Penny and Hubby were great we loved Penny's cake I should have got the recipe. Did not want to come home it was so tranquil. Would definitely recommend to a friend, to tell the truth we already have.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay T
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful cottage with excellent hosts!”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Cosy comfortable cottage thoughtfully presented and equipped! Rural location in a quiet, picturesque village was exactly what we wanted. Easy to access services and sightseeing locations in Norfolk.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiwimaxwe...
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed March 30, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have family in the area and wanted somewhere close by to stay. The cottage was perfect for us (three adults). Very peaceful and perfectly located, easy to find and very welcoming and helpful hosts. You can hear the quiet, only disturbed by songbirds, peasants and partridge. Enjoyed spotting hares in the field over to Shotesham, and walking many footpaths. Hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andynkaz
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful hide away but close enough to Norwich”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Penny and Roger were helpful hosts that provided recommendations on best route to UEA, good places to eat and encouraging us to help ourselves to the fruit in the surrounding orchard (which we enjoyed). The cottage was warm, comfortable and had all the equipment we needed during our stay and the second bedroom allowed our daughter a student at UEA, to stay over as well. The location was beautiful and although next door to another holiday let we were not overlooked so felt like we were in our own private grounds.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinyjojo
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic setting for inspiration”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We've just got back from Orchard Cottage and were really satisfied and content! Penny and Roger's welcome brings just the right measure of friendly help and respectful distance which is important to balance. They were lovely and so is what they've created......
The gardens and fields around are tranquil and lush. You can imagine creating that great artwork or novel in this environment. And the cottages, are just right. Comfortable, spotless and sweet. Don't go expecting modern life - this is all about getting away from it. There was virtually no Orange mobile signal so kick back and relax.
Can I just add there was a tray of tea upon welcome and the best courgette cake ever. Yum!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The water heater in the bedroom going off all night
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooleyvil...
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A peach of a cottage in an enchanting orchard setting”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

There is always a danger with lovely memories that they become undone when you try to put them into words. But some things have to be shared and the delights of a week’s stay in Orchard cottage is certainly such a case. Three things helped make this an ideal holiday base for us. First, the cottage has a compact but very practical layout and is well equipped – absolutely everything has been thought of (or can be readily supplied) by Penny and Rodger, the owners. The setting of the cottage in a long established orchard, off a tree lined country lane render the whole set up utterly enchanting. But should you need an urban fix, then Norwich is just nine miles (14km) away - the charming seaside towns of Cromer and Sheringham are within a 45 minute drive. Apparently there is even a bus link to Norwich but this should be checked. The small general store in the nearby village of Hempnall can also meet a lot of culinary and household needs. Thirdly, as hinted earlier, the comfort of Orchard Cottage owes much to the attentive but unobtrusive service provided by the owners. When we arrived, there was a complementary bottle of apple juice as well as tea bags, milk and slices of homemade cake to welcome us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting
Liked least: having to go home!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing