We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning house and gardens.”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of The Old Hall

The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden Atmospheric Great Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden
Atmospheric Great Hall
Garden Room
Drawing Room
Yellow Sitting Room
Country Kitchen With Aga
Poolside Pavilion
Poolside Pavilion
Childrens Chill Out Room
Master Bedroom Suite Overlooking The Garden
En-Suite Bathroom / Dressing Room
Oak Bedroom - superking bed
Oak Bedroom En-suite
Crewel Bedroom - with dressing room and en-suite
17th Century Four Poster
Attic Dorm - Sleeps 4 Kids
View To Garden Terrace
The Garden - Yew Hedges and Topiary
Pop Up Glamping
Tennis Court
Perfect for Celebrations and Get Togethers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dion G
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning house and gardens.”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

An absolutely fantastic place to have spent a few days. Janine met us on arrival with cake and champagne. The house and gardens are even more amazing in real life. Very well equipped kitchen and bedrooms. My favourite space was the poolside thatched pavilion, many hours spent relaxing with doors wide open looking out onto the beautiful grounds.
Will definitely think about a longer visit next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
2 reviews
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We travelled from the United States and spent 2 weeks at the Old Hall this summer welcoming family and friends from across the UK and beyond! We had children as young as two years and adults in their 70s, and everyone was comfortable and entertained. We especially loved the pool, tennis courts and croquet and there were many beautiful walks right on our doorstep! We also enjoyed wonderful meals with the catering co recommended by Janine and fabulous fish and chips and Indian food from recommended vendors. Thank you to Janine for all her assistance in organizing this amazing holiday and thank you for this beautiful home that accommodated so many people so comfortably!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K
1 review
“Superb house - first class in every aspect”
Reviewed August 2, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I rarely if ever bother writing reviews but we had an absolutely superb weekend at the Old Hall. The house and gardens are absolutely stunning and perfectly maintained and there was plenty of space for everyone.

Janine, the owner, was a extremely helpful in terms of eating options both in the house and locally which enabled us to plan a superb weekend. She also helped us organise some clay pigeon shooting locally which was a big success.

Having booked many similar types of houses for a large group weekend get away I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Everything was organised with minimum of fuss which meant we had a totally stress free weekend to remember.

If you are looking to organise a weekend away in a beautiful settings, close to London with plenty to keep you occupied then I think the Old Hall is as good as it gets.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sashman1
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“10/10, a bucket full of brownie points for me!”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Special birthday weekend, with 18 friends and family, coming and going at different times, but the weekend was simply wonderful. It was a privilege to stay in such a lovely building

Knowing there are numerous local interests meant we could easily travel somewhere if we needed to but there was so much to see, do, explore we never left the place the whole weekend.

Janine is most welcoming, sets everything up nicely and explains how it works, its then yours to look after! the Kitchen is the central meeting point and whilst there are beautiful rooms to explore, the fun of an AGA, preparing and eating food in secret hideaways around the garden is most relaxing.

do take Janine's advice, Bill the fish and chip man was prompt, his fish suppers fabulous and plentiful. as for the caterers they were excellent. How chef made three lunch for 16 people is beyond comprehension, the staff courteous and charming

Everyone enjoyed their stay, and I have a bucket full of brownie points!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic week spent at the old hall, made even better by the wall to wall sunshine so we got full use of the fabulous gardens and outdoor pool. The house is fully equipped with everything you need, with loads of room for large families and parties.
The grounds are immense and the formal garden is beautiful. The tennis court and pool were an added bonus. We even made use of the fire pit where we spent an evening toasting marshmallows. We all had a brilliant time and the memories we made will last forever. Janine is extremely helpful and the added touches around the house all helped make it a fabulous holiday. Bill even came to the house to cook us fish and chips from his van which were the best!Don't hesitate to stay here. You won't be disappointed, especially if the peacock displays his feather....magnificent! Stayed with family, May 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Absolutely perfect weekend”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We knew on arrival that it was going to be a very special weekend. It was raining outside but the hall was lit , fire was burning in the grate and Janine the owner was there to welcome us which was such a nice touch .
It is an old house and every room is different , the dining room is ideal for hosting a special dinner, the kitchen is very cosy and all the bedroom are very comfortable.
The pool was very well heated, the tennis courts great and the garden delightful.
The attention to detail is amazing , every little detail has been thought of.
There is a place for everyone to escape and relax and enjoy this beautiful house.
We had the most wonderful weekend of celebration with family and friends.PERFECT is the word I was looking for! THAN YOU .

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadVic200...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I booked the Old Hall for my husband's 70th birthday celebration. From start to finish everything was perfect. Janine couldn't have been more helpful with her advice and accommodating my requests.
We booked Bill the Fish and Chip Man for the Friday night - the best Fish & Chips we have eaten outside of New Zealand!
We had Mackenzie-David Events to cater for us on the Saturday evening. What a stunning meal. The service was impeccable and the food was so very delicious. Everyone was very happy.
If you want to have a special event in an extraordinary location then book The Old Hall. You will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing