We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous place for a birthday celebration”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Old Hall

The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden Atmospheric Great Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden
Atmospheric Great Hall
Garden Room
Drawing Room
Yellow Sitting Room
Country Kitchen With Aga
Poolside Pavilion
Poolside Pavilion
Childrens Chill Out Room
Master Bedroom Suite Overlooking The Garden
En-Suite Bathroom / Dressing Room
Oak Bedroom - superking bed
Oak Bedroom En-suite
Crewel Bedroom - with dressing room and en-suite
17th Century Four Poster
Attic Dorm - Sleeps 4 Kids
View To Garden Terrace
The Garden - Yew Hedges and Topiary
Pop Up Glamping
Tennis Court
Perfect for Celebrations and Get Togethers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philippa...
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous place for a birthday celebration”
Reviewed October 28, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a memorable weekend at The Old Hall in October, celebrating my husband's 60th birthday with our children and old friends. It is a stunning house - immaculately presented and extremely well equipped. Janine was very helpful throughout the booking process and she met us on arrival to show us around, leaving us with lovely cake and chilled champagne. Although the weather was rather dull (who knew damp tennis could be such fun) it really didn't matter - with the log fires burning,and the candlelight, everything looked quite magical. Peter Harrison (Have Knives, Will Travel) made us a wonderful dinner on Saturday, and otherwise we enjoyed the warmth and the challenge of the Aga in the beautiful kitchen. Although the house is so large, it manages to feel remarkable cosy and has a great atmosphere - the weekend went so fast - we really didn't want to leave. It certainly exceeded our expectations and we would love to visit again in the summer and be able to make full use of the huge garden, pool and barbeque. Don't hesitate to visit - you won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space for lots of people without feeling crowded
Liked least: Wasn't long enough!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MrsJKF
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Holiday of a Lifetime - Simply Magical”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week at the Old Hall in August 2015 with our two young children and two other families with children. It was the best family holiday we have ever had.

The property is stunning. With three large sitting rooms you and your guests are never in each other's way, and yet you can also have a comfortable time lounging together. Each bedroom has character and charm and the kids' bunk room at the top is fun. The pool and extensive grounds are perfect for children and adults alike to explore. The geese, chickens, ducks, and sheep were so sweet that we felt like we were living in a Beatrix Potter storybook.

Despite the historic age of the house, it also has every modern comfort - beautiful linens, powerful hot water, a Nespresso coffee maker, etc. Janine has thought of EVERYTHING. The children's play room is stocked with a wonderful collection of toys and games and in the adult sitting area we found a selection of brand-new movie releases. The library also has a wonderful selection of books. Janine is a consummate hostess and has done everything to ensure your comfort. Housekeeper Becs runs a very tight ship and the house is immaculate.

The caterers recommended by Janine, Bespoke, are amazing. We had them bring dinner in every night and we just reheated and served. Everyone was crazy about the food and it was so nice not to worry about cooking for our group.

We also made great use of the activities recommended by Janine: tennis lessons for the kids, a day of archery for everyone, fish and chip van one night, a canoe tour of the broads, and family photos by a local photographer.

There is so much to do, and yet the Old Hall is also the perfect place to relax and connect with your family and friends. This is a perfect location for a mixed-age gathering and at various times we had four generations represented.

We hope to return to the Old Hall and would recommend this wonderful house to anyone we know!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Historic home, beautiful grounds, love and care put in to the property
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Date of stay: August 2015
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaveandLi...
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing venue for a special birthday celebration”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked to stay at The Old Hall based on the pictures and reviews on line, we were not disappointed. There are not enough superlatives to express how special this place is. We were greeted by Janine and given a tour with a potted history of the house. We had booked in house dining by Bespoke Events for the evening of my 60th birthday, Rebecca & Chris were amazing. We started with champagne in the Moroccan loggia in the garden, dinner in the Great Hall followed by cheese and coffee in the sitting room, I felt very privileged spending my special day with family and friends in this perfect setting. We made full use of the facilities, tennis, croquet and the swimming pool, with long walks in the grounds.
Thank you to Janine and her team for making our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The history coupled with stylish feel of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMR56
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Truly exceptional home!”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have had the privilege of staying in some wonderful homes over the years but The Old Hall has to top them all by a considerable degree. Firstly the opportunity to stay in such an outstanding historic home was truly amazing. Words cannot describe the beauty of this wonderful building which, despite its obvious grandeur, is a really welcoming "home". The whole house is furnished exquisitely with beautiful fabrics, comfortable beds and top quality sheets and towels. With no fewer than 3 sitting rooms to choose from, a really well-equipped homely farmhouse kitchen complete with aga, the beautiful thatched summer house and 8 delightful bedrooms, the house is incredibly spacious and ideally suited to large groups or family gatherings. The extensive gardens are stunning and being fortunate with the weather, we were able to make full use of the lovely heated pool and tennis court. Unfortunately, we weren't able to take advantage of the many services on offer but there is a whole host of catering, entertainment options and activities that can be organised both on site or in the local area. We cannot thank Janine, Bec and the staff enough for their kind hospitality and we really hope we will be able to return in the not too distant future.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keithlind...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great expectations greatly exceeded.”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I needed a place to which to invite my whole extended family for a weekend to join me in celebrating my seventy-fifth birthday. It was easy to choose The Old Hall: it offered everything we needed, and more, for eight adults (39 to 75 years old) and seven children (7 to 16 years old). Oh, and six dogs!

The house itself was immaculately presented, in keeping with its history, but with all modern amenities and fully equipped, with a large Aga in the kitchen (home-from-home!) but also an electric oven and hobs, and a microwave oven. My son-in-law produced mouth-watering steaks on the large Weber gas barbecue in the courtyard..

Converting the attic into children's bedrooms, complete with a home cinema, was inspirational and a boon the one morning it rained.

The pool pavilion was used by the musicians among us. My wife, children and grandchildren are all are very keen swimmers, so the pool was essential. We have had several homes with swimming pools so know how important it is to maintain them properly. The pool at The Old Hall was very clean, the water temperature and chemical balance perfect, the motorised cover easy to use and pool towels provided for everyone. We all enjoy outdoor games, so the lawns (for croquet and cricket) and tennis court were a bonus.

The grounds were a joy to explore - a mix of very trim beds, lawns and topiary, many mature trees and some wilderness to investigate. The whole house and grounds seemed boundless and in three days we had no need to venture beyond the front gate.

We were welcomed on arrival by the owner, who gave us a full tour and pleasantly surprised us with unexpected extras.

The feedback from my whole family, from youngest to oldest was full of superlatives.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness
Liked least: The noisy peacock disturbed one or two of my family members' sleep.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing