We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house for a really magical experience”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of The Old Hall

The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden Atmospheric Great Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden
Atmospheric Great Hall
Garden Room
Drawing Room
Yellow Sitting Room
Country Kitchen With Aga
Poolside Pavilion
Poolside Pavilion
Childrens Chill Out Room
Master Bedroom Suite Overlooking The Garden
En-Suite Bathroom / Dressing Room
Oak Bedroom - superking bed
Oak Bedroom En-suite
Crewel Bedroom - with dressing room and en-suite
17th Century Four Poster
Attic Dorm - Sleeps 4 Kids
View To Garden Terrace
The Garden - Yew Hedges and Topiary
Pop Up Glamping
Tennis Court
Perfect for Celebrations and Get Togethers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lauren L
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing house for a really magical experience”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I spent my birthday celebration at The Old Hall with a group of friends and we had the most amazing stay. The house is in a beautiful location in Norfolk and is set on 17 acres of incredible gardens - we were all saying we felt like we were in Downton Abbey!

The house is full of character, original features combined with all the mod cons to make the stay incredibly comfortable - from the Aga stove in the kitchen to the 16th century beams in the dining room.

We did the restaurant at home experience on Sat night and it was great - the caterers were really professional and the food was fab.

I would highly recommend The Old Hall for anyone who is looking for something really special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Reviewed July 2, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
liz1944
Northwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Heavenly house”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just returned from a long weekend spent in this magnificent house.Everything was perfect, including the weather! There can be few owners of such wonderful historic houses who trust guests to respect and love the house,and leave beautiful pictures,ornaments and artefacts in situ,as they add so much to the ambience of the place.The house is immaculate (not easy in such an old house)there were beautiful fresh flower arrangements,spotless white fluffy towels,and crisp white bed linen.We could not fault it in any way whatsoever,and we'd all love to return ,being very reluctant to leave today.Loads to do,umpteen books games,several Tvs,wifi,swimming pool tennis court,!and several lounges so it was easy to find a quiet space if you wanted a quiet spell.The owner has incredible taste,and everywhere you look there is something to please the eye.
The gardens are fantastic,and the peacocks and other feathery inhabitants are a constant source of entertainment.The topiary is fascinating,as is the history of the place.I cannot recommend it too highly and feel Very fortunate to have been a temporary resident at the Old Hall

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SueDeal
Deal
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Magnificent Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have recently returned from the most amazing birthday weekend in this wonderful house.
To say I was not looking forward to my BIG birthday was an understatement! Unbeknown to me my family booked this wonderful house and turned my dreaded birthday into a wonderful celebration.
We arrived on the Friday to be met by Janine (the owner) and she gave us the warmest of welcomes, the weather was chilly but the house was warm and had the most lovely ambiance with the sun shining in the leaded windows. Such a beautiful house and far more perfect than any 5* hotel. The kitchen with the aga was the hub of the house and when we arrived there was fizz in the fridge with a tray of champagne flutes, plus a tray set for tea (milk in the fridge) complemented by a beautiful cake.

We are a family of 9 adults and 2 children, ages ranging from 70 to 5 and it suited us all. Lots for the children to do, they loved the playroom and playing tennis with the adults on the tennis court. There is also a pool and a pool house, although only open in the summer. The grounds are magnificent and home to peacocks and chickens. Do try the fresh eggs for breakfast, so yummy. There are so many rooms in the house, do look at the website and if you book this house you will not be disappointed. I had a surprise party in the big hall and my family arranged caterers(Bespoke) who were excellent and I must give them a mention as their service was above and beyond and I would highly recommend them.

I think over the course of the weekend we used most rooms and lit the open fires, this has to be the most relaxing place my husband and I have ever stayed in, of course my children together with their husbands, wives, partners did all the organising making this the best 70th birthday weekend ever but they certainly got it spot on when they booked The Old Hall at Saxlingham, Nethergate.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JDP89_13
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Not being able to decide on a venue for Christmas, we opted to bring our family together on neutral soil. Out of all the places we looked at, ranging from the Scottish Highlands to the French coast, we couldn't have picked a better place than The Old Hall.

From the very beginning, Janine and her team went above and beyond what we expected from them, never settling for 'just' fulfilling our wishes but continuously taking an extra step to ensure the best possible experience. Events were smoothly put together and additional requests such as catering, seamlessly coordinated.

The Old Hall itself is a magnificent and wonderful house, full of beautiful period features and tasteful decoration, all of which makes one feel at home from the very first step across its doors. Katy's warm welcome upon arrival further added to this experience and the delicious mince pies/welcome gifts made us want to stay on forever.
Its grounds are stunning and we are definitely planning on coming back in spring to see the flowers in full blossom.

Finally, let us not forget to mention the fact that we were accompanied by eight dogs, whom Janine and her staff kindly welcomed, trustingly, with open arms.

Thank you all so much for this relaxing and lovely experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryony T
Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous second stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Over a year ago we first hired the Old Hall and had such a fantastic experience, we booked it again for the following year. We weren't disappointed. It's a fabulous house, with beautiful gardens set up to easily accommodate a party of 16 people. WE absolutely love the place, and intend to book it again. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing