We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want quick & easy, Duckie's is it!”
Review of Duckie's

Duckie's
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you want quick & easy, Duckie's is it!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

At the end of Cayucos' annual Christmas Tree Lighting and Open House we opted for a quick bite at the end of our really quick shopping trip in downtown. Located right in front of the pier, Duckie's would likely afford you an amazing view of the coastal front during the day but at night, who knows! The fish and chips were decent and service was good. Overall, a fair bargain for what you pay for if you're looking for a quick bite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    147
    55
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average fried fare”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Went here for supper because everything else in Cayucos is closed on Monday and Tuesday evening during the off-season. (We should have driven to Moro Bay). Draft beer was good. Fish and chips were okay -- fish portion was bigger than we expected and it was a solid piece of fish inside, but not much flavour. Chips/fries were standard. Calamari and chips sounded better than it was. The calamari had no flavour and was a little bit rubbery.

If you are in the area and want to eat just to get full, this place will do the trick. If you want something tasty and/or healthy, it would be best to look elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrandonBob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had takeout from this place because it is convenient to the condo we occupied Thanksgiving weekend. I had the fried combo plate. Fish was average, shrimp were the 1-inch diameter size like you often get in salads. Clam strips were way overcooked, and calamari was cut like large steak fries rather than rings, and tasteless. Fries were just fries.
I was told that the chowder was good, but I didn't try it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Futuremauian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Was expecting more based on an article in a national magazine. Fish tacos were ok but higher priced than others that are better. Clam chowder was just ok. Fish and shrimp were good and lightly breaded. Order at counter and food is served fast. Quality is just average, not exceptional as article claimed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Below Average”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Went here with a friend who loves fish & chips. When her dish was being delivered to her I thought to myself 'Wow, those don't look right", but I didn't say anything to her. Sure enough, as soon as she saw them she was appalled just by the mere appearance of them. Upon eating them it went downhill from there. As for my burger, I would definitely eat one at McDonalds before I would ever eat one here again. Sorry, but this place fell short on soooo many levels!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraCambria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duckie's also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Duckie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing