We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Duckie's

Duckie's
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

all the positive reviews led us in, but, the food served was awful! Just deep fried batter with 'rubber'....please avoid if you have any taste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TM20120602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    144
    55
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of our highlights visiting Cayucos”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Best meal we had during two night stay in Cayucos. Much better than expected from what appears to be a causal "beach stand" type of place. Food was very good, served fast by helpful staff. Kids and adults all happy - ice cold beer on tap and nice view all made for pleasant experience for family of five. Definitely would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suitcase_Sherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Lunch by the Cayucos Pier”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We went to Cayucos pier to do some fishing, but the wind was blowing to hard and cold. We saw Duckie's Chowder House so went in for lunch. It is a little place with indoor and outdoor seating. You have to stand in line to place your order. You will be given a number to put on your table and the food will be delivered. We had oysters on the half shell which were small, but very sweet and good. My husband had the fried oysters and chip which were outstanding since I tried some of his too. I had the Manila clam steamers which was ok, but had to much butter which overpowered the clams.

This little place is very busy and seating can be hard to find, but does not seem to long before something will open up. The staff are all really great. I highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurpleDancingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Loved their fish and chips and chowder. Inside seating at booths and some limited outside seating. Order at the counter and they deliver. Reasonable prices. Right at the foot of the pier. A great stop while on a road trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“great chowder”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We enjoyed our chowder lunch at Duckie's and would have ordered more food except for the large dinner we were anticipating. The service was friendly, the atmosphere casual, and the menu had a good variety.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duckie's also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Duckie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing