We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, close to beach, reasonable prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duckie's

Duckie's
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, close to beach, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were pleasantly suprised at the quality of the seafood baskets and the clam chowder, both tasted very fresh.
Cayucos does not have many places open late at night for dinner so if you get there late don't hesitate to go to Duckies.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tiredaustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    140
    50
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went to have a bite at Duckies at the suggestion of friends. My husband and I split some clam chowder and calamari and chips. Both were very good. The clam chowder was creamy and full of clams and the calamari was very tender and although it is breaded and deep fried the breading was not very heavy which was great. The staff was very friendly. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SK1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good & Fresh Tasting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Duckie's Chowder House is right across from the pier. I tried their cup of Clam Chowder and loved it. It had lots of clams and a few potatoes in it which made my day, plus it was fresh tasting and hot. My husband ordered their Fish & Chips (he doesn't usually eat fish) and said it was good. I had 1 of the pieces of fish and thought it was excellent. Good batter, big chunk of hot flaky fresh tasting fish. Nothing special about the fries but they where good and they where hot and you could tell they made them to order.
They had a good menu and they serve beer and wine as well as sodas. You do walk up to the counter to place your order and they will bring it to your table if you are eating there. Place was nice and clean and they also had some seating outside. Didn't have to wait to long for the food and it was hot.
Place looked very busy on the weekend so we ate there on a week day. It was still busy but not as packed.
I thought it was a little expensive, my cup of claim chowder was $3.50 and the fish & chips my husband had was $9.75, but hey it tasted fresh and it was tasty and hot.
They also have a Happy Hour Mon. - Fri. 3-6 pm.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tedebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great menu and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

This little beachside chowder house is worth looking for. Varied menu of fish and shell fish. Very reasonable,casual and relaxed.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seacliff23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place - Ate there twice during vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

We loved this place. The chowder is delicious...East Coast style fried seafood platter to die for with delicate breading. The grilled red snapper dinner was delicious. The place has a real beachy atmosphere - you may have to wait for a table but it's worth it!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RadioLady2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duckie's also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Duckie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing