We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoked fish, tacos and a view!”

Ruddell's Smokehouse
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Smoked fish, tacos and a view!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Tiny little place right near the closed pier, but they had several kinds of smoked fish and tacos and some tables outside, so no complaints. What's not to like. Beats an expensive sit down meal every time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DiverBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    65
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Had the salmon sandwich and it was amazing! There is no sitting. We got our food to go. Can't wait to go back again and try other items on there menu

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just Tacos...”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

But the Tacos sure are good!

I prefer to grab a 'hunk' of smoked albacore (or Salmon - or Cayucos Candy or ???) - some smoked cheese too when they are doing that - and let them come to room temp while looking for a good vista point (could be yards from the Smokeshop - or heading North on Hwy 1 toward Ragged Point).

Cheese - crackers and a smoked fish munch - plus a view of the Pacific - it don;t get any better!

Don't forget to stop back in before heading home to stock up - 'cause you will be wishing you had some MORE smoked albacore...

Always a wait - but never a disappointment...

(I do have a suggestion - maybe an outdoor vending machine stocked with smoked items for those of us that can't wait until the 11am open time - or for late evening travelers???)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible smoked seafood”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had the smoked shrimp and albacore. Both were delicious. There was a bit of wait in line and then another wait for the food itself. Totally worth it. The "salsa" they serve is a little odd (celery and apple?) but tasty. Just wish it were chopped up more finely and that there was less of it since it interfered with my ability to wrap my mouth around the taco.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alsyli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique Take on Tacos”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have been in Cayucos numerous times, but never stopped at Ruddell's. This time we made a special effort to try their tacos. They have a very unique take on tacos. We ordered one smoked salmon taco and one smoked albacore taco. They were so packed with vegetables and fish, and were one of the best tacos we have ever had. There is no doubt we will return soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rjhaardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruddell's Smokehouse also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ruddell's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing