We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 'non-traditional' fish tacos”

Ruddell's Smokehouse
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great 'non-traditional' fish tacos”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you are looking for 'baja style' fried fish tacos, please be advised that this place serves smoked tacos that are not like cabbage based baja style tacos you commonly find. Once you understand that, then get ready for a treat as the fish and shrimp tacos are great.

It's a small place, surfer influenced, so don't go there expecting anything fancy, except the food. Ask for what fish is good, or try chicken or shrimp. They have two different hot sauces that work well with the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    65
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“farce”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

this little fish shack sold us some of the worst smoked fish we have ever had. The food was not good, I cannot put my finger on the exact reason why. We first purchased small packets of smoked fish in variety to take home, then ordered lunch. I have already told you about the unhappy lunch but also we ended up throwing away our purchased fish. It was just wrong and tasted of chemicals instead of smoke. yuk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank auh2o5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Right at the Beach”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

It's right at the beach and known for the best tacos in town. A favorite gathering spot. When you visit Cayucos check it out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank winkphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smoked tacos/sandwiches galore”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Ruddell's is a Cayucos staple. If you go to Cayucos you HAVE to stop in at Ruddell's. Their smoked fish tacos are great, BUT their smoked shrimp and smoked chicken are the best! Don't forget to smother your taco with their extra yummy hot sauce!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Longbrds11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
413 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Tasty sandwiches & tacos...just add some hot sauce!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We tried the albacore tuna sandwich & a salmon taco and both were light, tasty and smoky....but without knowing what flavours were going to be on each we didnt add hot sauce....I think that was definitely the missing link! We'd definitely go back ... its great to be able to support little holes in the wall who are working so hard and doing such a great job!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camnicsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruddell's Smokehouse also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ruddell's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing