We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I craaave these fish tacos!”

Ruddell's Smokehouse
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I craaave these fish tacos!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Whenever I stay away from Ruddell's too long, I find myself craving their fish tacos like crazy. Not the fried coated, greasy kind - these are light and delicious with fresh mixed greens and soft tortilla wraps. I love the smoked albacore tacos and we always take home some smoked salmon (and smoked oysters if they have any) for later. It's mostly take-out - but right at the beach, so go find a spot there and enjoy the deliciousness!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    65
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The Best!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I'm a Cambria local and have been coming to Jim's for over ten years.Only A handful of items on the menu and ALL are Delicious! The hot spot, the place to eat,the place to hang out and have some fish tacos or my favorite chicken sandwich. A not to miss place to eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vida67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos...mmmmmmmmmmmm”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have been going to Cayucos for 40+ years and walked right by this place for many of those years. It is the definition of a hole in the wall and certainly not a place I would normally go into. Early this year I finally stopped on the recommendation of a local resident. Wow...just wow. These are the best fish and shrimp tacos that I have ever had. If you like smoked fish...you will love this place. My wife is not a big smoked fish fan...but she fell in love with the shrimp tacos. There is no seating other than a few plastic tables and chairs on the sidewalk....but it is right on the beach. So grab a taco and soda and plant yourself on a plastic chair or park bench...you will not regret it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erie.mon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you like "smoked" you will love this place”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

They smoke everything, but specialize in smoked fish. Very, very small, usually busy. No indoor dining - a few outside tables & chairs; mostly take-out. Right on the the ocean in Cayucos, CA.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bloren3433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fish Tacos”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had the smoked Salmon tacos they are excellent,and the two guys working there are very friendly and helpful will go back soon

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lvjohn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruddell's Smokehouse also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Ruddell's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing