We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Della Via

Cafe Della Via
Ranked #5 of 22 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Templeton, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

All around great restaurant. Denise, the owner, has been present during our several visits and makes you feel "at home" in her dining room. The food was excellent. Our party ordered the chicken marsala (wonderful marsala sauce!), spaghetti and meatballs (the size of tennis balls!) and pasta primavera (superb vegetable ensemble!). Wine and beer selection is good; if you enjoy a beer with dinner, I recommend the beer on tap - perfect! Very pleasant wait staff, attentive to all your needs but without being pushy. We never have felt like we were being rushed out the door. Its a good idea to make reservations but don't let that keep you from making a spur of the moment trip to enjoy the cuisine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    53
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner here on a Saturday night and it was good, but nothing to write home about. I had a Caesar salad with anchovies and it was pretty good. The lettuce was shredded and hard to spear on my fork, but it was tossed and the dressing was good. I do wish it had more than 5 anchovies on top. My husband had the chicken piccata, and like the salad, it was just ok. He thought the chicken tasted like bulk frozen Costco chicken and it was also smothered in an onion caper sauce. Even with the sauce, he said there wasnt much flavor. There is a limited selection of 'fine dining' choices in Cayucos, so we were quite sad when our meal wasn't great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank desereeh_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We love this restaurant. We live close so enjoy it quite often. They have the best chicken marsala. They will do substitutions of pasta. If you don't like tortellini they will substitute. The house salad is excellent and will split it in half for two people. We love the chocolate molten cake. It is moist and rich as it should be.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buellton, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Friendly service, very pretty interior, and great veggie lasagna. My husband had the lasagna Bolognese, and we both enjoyed a Paso Robles house wine. Relaxing and did not feel rushed. The bread and garlic/butter dip was addictive - could eat that for dinner! Nice for a romantic dinner date, or for a family as prices were quite reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank otter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great food and wine in a cozy setting. Very friendly and attentive staff. Order the Greywolf zin/cab wine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Della Via also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Cafe Della Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing