We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Bill & Carol's Sea Shanty
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Exeter, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff were very friendly, the food was excellent but a little over priced, but that's what you pay when dining at the beach

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave1420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    104
    39
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, CA, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

They have a large outdoor patio, some covered and some uncovered areas. We liked the patio because we could sit and eat lunch with our dog. They also had lots of nice, clean dog water dishes and offered our dog a cookie after they asked our permission.

We had the fish and chips, which were great. Later in a second visit we had the strawberry shortcake...which was excellent.

The decor is fun, my favorite was a truck front grill with the headlights that could be used as lights for the patio.

I would recommend this spot to friends and not to miss the strawberry shortcake.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Ca.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“My favorite Cayucos Restaurant”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I love the Sea Shanty because it has a casual, laid back feeling just like the town itself. We travel to Cayucos a lot, and we always come here. It's nice to sit on the patio if the weather is good, and if not, it's fun to look at the hats while eating inside, too. I always like the food. This trip we went for breakfast and had a ham and cheese omelet and french toast. They were both really good. If you have a party of more than 5, definitely call for reservations because they don't have a ton of tables inside. There are kid friendly menu options, and there is a small park across the street where they can play after eating. It's also walking distance from many of the motels in Cayucos. The women's bathroom is surprisingly large and nicely decorated.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hmsd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

On a return visit to Cambria, our group of friends had to have lunch at the Sea Shanty. Our idea was to share a burger or the fish & chips so we could enjoy one of the huge, delicious deserts. Always nice to support a local restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Getaways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Local joint with great fish & chips”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great place for a quick lunch, especially if you like good chowder, fish & chips, and still have room dessert. If you are lucky enough to be there when they have the fried oyster sandwich, order it. Usually there is only one waitress so the service may be a little slow but what's the hurry, you're in Cayucos.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KHillLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill & Carol's Sea Shanty also viewed

Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
Cayucos, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Bill & Carol's Sea Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing