We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Wonderful Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Cayucos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Visit”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I had our fourth visit to On the Beach in January, this time for four nights. We love this place! The rooms are comfortable and spacious, and the staff makes you feel like family. Maureen makes terrific breakfasts and always goes out of her way to prepare vegetarian dishes for us. We recommend walking or running on the beach once the sun comes up. One thing is certain: we will be back!

Room Tip: Reserve a room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    34
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
169
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family and I love this place! We try to go every year. Excellent food, beautiful rooms, gorgeous location! Perfect place to relax and unwind. Do yourself a huge favor and GO!

Easy access to wine tasting, Morro Bay, Herst Castle & hiking trails.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanaDane555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely, congenial place!! Wonderful customer service from the initial phone contact for reservations thru check-in and on up to appetizer hour. Room was pretty & comfortable-just a warning -- I did not realize that "ocean front" would not be on the sand, the street runs behind the building so even though you face the ocean, you are not directly on the beach. A tiny complaint, but was surprised by this. Ocean front rooms on 2nd floor will overlook parked cars.
A great stay, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eslamlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

What a wonderful get-a-way! Miles of open beaches, fresh air and great scenery... The B&B was excellent. Friendly staff, food was made to order and plenty of it and the room was spacious and inviting. The gas fire insert added warmth for the chilly evening and the relaxing decor was perfect for a quiet mid-week vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I truly enjoyed my experience here. The staff was both welcoming and helpful, even the other guests were relaxed and friendly. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, with balconies and fireplaces, and since it was the holiday season, there were charming Christmas trees in each room. The breakfast and evening snacks were absolutely delicious. Cayucos is a cute little town filled with friendly people. For this visit, I travelled solo and felt totally safe and comfortable. I am looking forward to my next relaxing trip to the hotel, bringing my husband along to enjoy the romantic atmosphere.

Room Tip: Second story rooms have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TZBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I'd like to thank all the staff of On the Beach that made our experience a great one! This truly beats any other place in Cambria by a mile! The food was wonderful, the room was beautiful, the staff was super friendly. We can't wait to return very soon!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archi9551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Love love this place . Stay here about every 4 months. :) people are very friendly . Nice clean place . We often to go this beach as this is where we got married 15 yrs ago. A quaint lil town close to lots of other coastal towns nearby . Lots of fun activities and shopping nearby .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mckaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 mi away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.2 mi away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
14.9 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,633 reviews
17.7 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
14.5 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to On The Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On The Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 181 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Cayucos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — On The Beach Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a luxury inn located in the small, casual, surf town of Cayucos, on the central coast of California. All ocean views are a full 180 degrees and all rooms have private balconies, jacuzzi tubs and gas fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your On The Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Beach Hotel Cayucos
On The Beach Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing